OU vs. Iowa State Kickoff at 11 a.m.

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 08, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. -- The Big 12 Conference announced Friday that the football game between the University of Oklahoma and Iowa State is slated to kick off at 11 a.m. CT at Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. The contest will be broadcast by FOX Sports 1.  

The Sooners own a 69-5-2 all-time advantage vs. the Cyclones. Oklahoma has won 14 straight meetings between the two schools, including an 8-0 record under head coach Bob Stoops.

The University of Oklahoma will honor of the many contributions and sacrifices made by active-duty military personnel, veterans and their families throughout next Saturday’s game. In addition to special recognitions throughout the game, SoonerVision will also honor Oklahoma’s military personnel serving around the world.  

Next Saturday’s game will also mark Senior Day at Oklahoma as 17 senior football student-athletes are scheduled to be honored during a pregame ceremony along with the Don Key Award presentation. The Don Key Award is presented annually to a senior who exemplifies all-around excellence in the classroom and on the field. Senior members of the OU Band and Spirit Squads will also be recognized along with other outstanding senior students from across the University of Oklahoma campus.

In addition, the Sooners will proudly honor the legacy of late Oklahoma legend Rod Shoate who will be posthumously inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013. Representatives from the National Football Foundation will be on hand to make a special presentation to members of the Shoate family.

The Spiro, Okla., native was a three-time All-America linebacker and a two-time Big Eight Defensive Player of Year for the Sooners from 1972-74. He earned consensus first-team All-America honors in 1973 and was a unanimous pick in 1974 when the Sooners claimed the national championship under head coach Barry Switzer.

Four Oklahoma student-athletes who won individual NCAA championships last season will be honored – Tia Brooks (track & field), Chirapat Jao-Javanil (women’s golf), Kendrick Maple (wrestling) and Michael Squires (men’s gymnastics). In addition, Keilani Ricketts (softball) will be recognized as the 2013 National Player of the Year and the Oklahoma men’s tennis squad will be honored for their second consecutive Big 12 title.

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will recognize University of Oklahoma OU vice president for intercollegiate athletics and Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione as the 2013 recipient of the John L. Toner Award. The Toner Award is presented annually by the NFF to an athletic director who has demonstrated superior administrative abilities and shown outstanding dedication to college athletics and particularly college football.




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.