OU Seeks Title in New York

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 08, 2013

 Oklahoma at Brockport/Oklahoma Invitational
 Date & Time   Nov. 9, 2013 | All Day
 Location   Brockport, N.Y.  | Special Events Recreation Center
 OU Info   2013-14 RosterOklahoma Coaching Staff
 Schedule   2013-14 Oklahoma Sooners Wrestling Schedule

NORMAN, Okla. -- The fifth-ranked University of Oklahoma wrestling team will travel to Brockport, N.Y., this weekend for the annual Brockport/Oklahoma Invitational held in the Special Events Recreation Center on Brockport’s campus. The tournament is slated to begin at 9 a.m. CT.

Other teams scheduled to compete include Brockport, Army, Bloomsburg, American University and the University of Buffalo. Along with the Sooners, Bloomsburg is also ranked in the USA Today/NWCA/AWN Division I Coaches Preseason Poll at No. 17.

The Sooners are the only team to ever take home the Brockport/Oklahoma Invitaitonal title, as they have won the championship all 14 years.

Eighteen OU wrestlers will compete in the tournament this season. Six Sooners are currently ranked by InterMat, including Kendric Maple (No. 1 at 149 pounds), Andrew Howe (No. 1 at 174 pounds), Jarrod Patterson (No. 5 at 125 pounds), Cody Brewer (No. 5 at 133 pounds), Nick Lester (No. 13 at 141 pounds) and Travis Rutt (No. 5 at 197 pounds).

At last year’s event, five Sooners claimed individual titles en route to securing the team championship, with 155.5 points, ahead of second-place Maryland’s 127.5.

On the season, OU is 2-0 and is coming off a 50-0 victory against Oklahoma City University on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

 Sooners Participating  Hometown (Year)
Jarrod Patterson (125) Cushing, Okla. (RSr.)
Cody Brewer (133) Kansas City, Mo. (RSo.)
Nick Lester (141) Eureka, Mo. (RSr.)
Dalton Dennis (141) Clearwater, Fla. (RSo.)
Josh Durham (141) Edmond, Okla. (RJr.)
Kendric Maple (149) Wichita, Kan. (RSr.)
Dryden Dennis (149) Clearwater, Fla. (RFr.)
Justin DeAngelis (157) Tulsa, Okla. (RJr.)
Derek Geiges (157) Charleston, S.C. (RJr.)
Peter Huang (157) Arlington, Texas (Jr.)
Tim Hamilton (157) Bartlesville, Okla. (RFr.)
Clark Glass (165) Brandon, Fla. (RFr.)
Andrew Howe (174) Cedar Lake, Ind. (RSr.)
Danny Chaid (184) San Jose, Calif. (Fr.)
Stone Drulman (184) Allen, Texas (Fr.)
Travis Rutt (197) New Prague, Minn. (RSr.)
Ross Larson (HWT) Akeny, Iowa (RFr.)
Zach Merrill (HWT) Bermuda Dunes, Calif. (RJr.)




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.