Strong Showing at Head of the Oklahoma

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
OCTOBER 05, 2013
 Women's Collegiate Eight
 (OU and Top Five Finishers, 20 total teams)
 1.  Clemson  14:36.418
 2.  Kansas A  14:50.160
 3.  Oklahoma A  15:00.015
 4.  Oklahoma B  15:17.880
 5.  Texas A  15:18.372
 Women's Collegiate Four
 (OU and Top Five Finishers, 34 total teams)
 1.  Clemson  16:03.782
 2.  Tulsa A  16:09.529
 3.  Oklahoma A  16:09.875
 4.  Tulsa E  16:24.355
 5.  Kansas State B  16:33.577
 9.  Oklahoma B  16:41.899
 15.  Oklahoma C  16:58.742
 Women's Collegiate Novice Eight
 (OU and Top Five Finishers, 10 total teams)
 1.  SMU  15:38.309
 2.  Tulsa A  15:45.003
 3.  Kansas State  15:49.943
 4.  Tulsa B  17:01.248
 5.  Central Oklahoma  18:03.344
 8.  Oklahoma  19:11.409
OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Oklahoma rowing team took multiple top finishes at the Head of the Oklahoma, kicking off the 2013-14 season on the Oklahoma River Saturday.

"We raced with great effort and intensity today," said OU head coach Leeanne Crain. "I'm pleased with the progress we're making early in the season and excited to watch the development of this very talented group of athletes as we prepare for our championship season this spring."

The Sooners started the day in the collegiate eight, with the Oklahoma A boat taking third out of 20 participants with a time of 15:00.015.

The Oklahoma B boat placed 11th in the same race after being hit by a boat from the open eight competition, causing the Sooners to lose valuable time. After further review with the head official, the OU boat's time was adjusted, pushing the Sooners to third place.

Clemson and Kansas finished first and second, respectively, in the varsity eight, with Texas taking fifth.

In the women's collegiate four event, OU raced three boats, finishing two in the top 10. The Oklahoma A boat took third in a time of 16:09.875, finishing six seconds behind Clemson and .3 behind Tulsa.

The Oklahoma B boat placed ninth in a time of 16:41.899 while the Oklahoma C took 15th in 16:58.742.

The final event of the afternoon racing for the Sooners was the women's novice eight. OU's first-year rowers finished in eighth overall in 19:11.409.

OU closed out the evening with the night sprints, racing under the lights for the first time at the Head of the Oklahoma. The Oklahoma A and B boats participated, taking second and third, respectively. 

Day Two
The Sooners returned to the Oklahoma River Sunday morning for two races to close out the Head of the Oklahoma.

In the first race of the day, OU boats finished 1-2-3 in the out of 15 entries in the women's open two race. Kellie O'Reilly and Emmie Preskitt finished first, Kim Moldenhauer and Marilyn Kozlowski second, and the pair of Abbie Seremek and Rachel Cantrell third.

Closing out the weekend, the Oklahoma C boat finished first in the women's open four, followed by the Oklahoma A taking second. Oklahoma B finished fourth and Oklahoma D took sixth to place all four boats in the top half of the 12 boats competing.

OU will next compete at the Head of the Colorado on Saturday, Oct. 26, in Austin, Texas.

Varsity Eight
C: Jessica Hogan
S: Kellie O’Reilly
7: Emmie Preskitt
6: Laura Combs
5: Hannah Kloppenburg
4: Kristin Clift
3: Victoria Wallace
2: Kim Moldenhauer
B: Marilyn Kozlowski
Second Varsity Eight
C: Lindsey McClure
S: Megan Quinn
7: Rachel Cantrell
6: Natalie Grimes
5: Daisy Beals
4: Taylor Gillespie
3: Maddison Wullschleger
2: Dale Main
B: Reagan Collins
Varsity Four
C: Ashley Middaugh
S: Heather Morris
3: Jenny O'Grady
2: Abbie Seremek
B: Meredith Thornton

Second Varsity Four
C: Nicasia D'Allesandro 
S: Allison Kwiecinski
3: Callie Kinsey
2: Jenny Franklin
B: Angela Thompson-Butler

Third Varsity Four
C: Ashley Carpenter
S: Cassie Preskitt
3: Marissa Beene
2: Markayla Adam
B: Megan Szukala

Novice Eight
C: Shandee Ratliff
8: Maegan Neihart
7: Taylor Spencer
6: Stephanie Busse
5: Victoria Baker
4: Hallie Robertson
3: Madison Heindenburg
2: Katie Shackelford
B: Anna Trammell

Alumni Eight
C: Carly Schueler
8: Rebecca Staff
7: Chelsea Moore
6: Brooke Holleman
5: Olivia Staff
4: Nicole Bladow
3: Nicole Furmanek
2: Kristin Anthis
B: Meghan Farrell

Alumni Four
C: Carly Schueler
S: Brooke Holleman
3: Kelsey O'Grady
2: Ivy Brown
B: Kat Passlack

Open Four A
C: Jessica Hogan
S: Laura Combs
3: Hannah Kloppenburg
2: Kristin Clift
B: Victoria Wallace

Open Four B
C: Lindsey McClure
S: Megan Quinn
3: Daisy Beals
2: Taylor Gillespie
B: Maddison Wullschleger

Open Four C
C: Ashley Middaugh
S: Heather Morris
3: Jenny O'Grady
2: Natalie Grimes
B: Reagan Collins

Open Four D
C: Nicasia D'Allesandro
S: Allison Kwiecinski
3: Angela Thompson-Butler
2: Emmie Preskitt
B: Meredith Thornton



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.