Sooners Reach Final Weekend
October 05, 2013

NORMAN, Okla. — Three Sooners advanced to the final weekend of the ITA All-America Championships in at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa.

Guillermo Alcorta moved to the fourth round in the main singles draw after ousting N.C. State’s Austin Powell in straight sets 6-2, 6-4. The senior faces Baylor’s Patrick Pradella in the quarterfinals Saturday.

Junior Dane Webb and freshman Andrew Harris advanced to the doubles semifinals after two wins Friday.  The duo beat Arkansas’ Manfed Jeske and Mike Nott in the second round and then dropped Virginia Tech’s Andreas Bjerrehus and Amerigo Contini 8-2.

Webb and Harris take on UCLA’s Marcos Giron and Mackenzie McDonald.

Webb also competed in the third round of singles play Friday, but fell in straight sets to Texas’ George Goldhoff.

For more on the tennis team follow us on Twitter @OU_MTennis.


Main Draw Singles Results – Third Round: 

  • George Goldhoff, Texas (Q) d. Dane Webb, Oklahoma 6-2 6-4
  • Jared Hiltzik (14), Illinois d. Ray Sarmiento (7), USC 6-2 6-2
  • Julian Lenz, Baylor d. Ronnie Schneider, North Carolina (Q) 6-3 4-6 6-2
  • Mitchell Frank (12), Virginia d. Winston Lin, Columbia 6-0 7-6 (4)
  • Guillermo Alcorta, Oklahoma d. Austin Powell, NC State 6-4 6-1
  • Patrick Pradella (13), Baylor d. Clarke Spinosa, University of San Diego 5-7 6-3 6-3
  • Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt University d. Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech 7-5 3-6 6-4
  • Austin Smith, Georgia (Q) d. Harrison Adams, Texas A&M (Q) 4-6 7-6 (7) 6-2

Main Draw Doubles - Quarterfinals:

  • Marcos Giron-Mackenzie McDonald, UCLA d. David O'Hare-Joe Salisbury, Memphis 8-0
  • Mikelis Libietis-Hunter Reese (1), Tennessee d. Elliott Orkin-Gordon Watson, Florida (Q) 8-4
  • Nick Chappell-Will Stein, TCU d. Ashok Narayana-Max Schnur, Columbia 8-3
  • Andrew Harris-Dane Webb, Oklahoma (Q) d. Andreas Bjerrehus-Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech 8-2

Main Draw Doubles – Second Round:

  • David O'Hare-Joe Salisbury, Memphis d. Jordan Angus-Malte Stropp (4), Mississippi State 8-5
  • Ashok Narayana-Max Schnur, Columbia d. Mitchell Frank-Mac Styslinger (5), Virginia 8-3
  • Nick Chappell-Will Stein, TCU d. Junior Ore-Jackson Withrow (3), Texas A&M 8-6
  • Marcos Giron-Mackenzie McDonald, UCLA d. Colin Roller-Joran Vliegen, East Carolina 8-4
  • Andrew Harris-Dane Webb, Oklahoma (Q) d. Manfed Jeske-Mike Nott (6)
  • Mikelis Libietis-Hunter Reese (1), Tennessee d. Diego Galeano-Mate Zsiga, Baylor 8-3
  • Elliott Orkin-Gordon Watson, Florida (Q) d. Gonzales Austin-Ryan Lipman, Vanderbilt University 8-5
  • Andreas Bjerrehus-Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech d. Raphael Hemmeler-Bruno Semenzato, Duke  8-3
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC