Football Coaching Staff
Bill Bedenbaugh
Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Coach Info:
Position: Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Hometown: St. Charles, Ill.
Alma Mater: Iowa Wesleyan
Graduating Year: 1995
Experience: 4 Years

• Has established himself as one of the country's top developers of offensive line talent since joining the Sooners in 2013. He was named one of’s top 25 recruiters of 2017 and 2018, and was a finalist for the 2017 Broyles Award, given to the nation's top assistant coach.

• Led by unanimous first-team All-America left tackle Orlando Brown, Bedenbaugh's 2017 offensive line was consistently regarded as one of the top units in the country and factored heavily in the Sooners setting single-season school records in total offense (579.6 ypg; led FBS), yards per play (8.3; second all-time in FBS), passing yards per game (361.8) and completion percentage (.714; led FBS), and in leading the FBS in passing efficiency rating (202.7) and first downs (361). His unit also paved the way for a ground attack that paced the Big 12 by averaging 217.8 rushing yards per contest.

• OU's 2016 offensive line overcame early season shuffling due to injuries to help Sooners to one of most productive offensive years in school history, ranking first nationally in passing efficiency rating (mark of 193.79 set an FBS record) and pass completion percentage (.706), second in total offense (554.8 ypg) and third in scoring offense (43.9 ppg). OU also led the Big 12 by allowing just 1.6 sacks per game. Left tackle Orlando Brown was the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year.

• Coached a 2015 offensive line unit that featured first-team All-Big 12 honorees Ty Darlington and Nila Kasitati. Darlington also won the Campbell Trophy, Wuerffel Trophy and Bowden Award for his efforts on and off the field. OU started a pair of freshmen at the tackle positions, including left tackle Orlando Brown, who was named a Freshman All-American by the Sporting News. The line led the way for an offense that ranked No. 4 in scoring, No. 17 in passing and No. 22 in rushing.

• Sent three offensive linemen (Daryl Williams, Adam Shead and Tyrus Thompson) to the NFL Scouting Combine in 2015, a total topped by only two other FBS programs. Williams was an All-Big 12 First Team pick, while Shead and Thompson were both second-team selections.

• Oklahoma led the nation in 2014 by permitting a mere 9.0 sacks.

• OU has registered its top two rushing seasons under Bob Stoops since Bedenbaugh joined the staff. The Sooners led the Big 12 and ranked 10th in the nation in 2014, averaging 261.2 rushing ypg, the highest total produced by the Sooners under Stoops.

• Running behind Bedenbaugh’s blocking unit, freshman RB Samaje Perine led the Big 12 in rushing (131.8 ypg) in 2014 and set the FBS single-game rushing record with 427 yards vs. Kansas (11/22/14).

• OU's 223.9 ypg rushing average in 2013 was the second-best mark accumulated under Stoops and ranked second in the Big 12 as the Sooners topped the 200-yard rushing plateau eight times.

• Center Gabe Ikard captained the Oklahoma offense in 2013, earning consensus All-America honors. He also became the first OU player to win the prestigious Wuerffel Trophy.

• Helped coach a 2012 West Virginia offense that ranked fifth in the nation in pass efficiency (161.97), ninth in scoring (39.5 ppg), 10th in total offense (502.0 ypg) and 10th in passing offense (330.2 ypg).

• Thanks to the protection of his offensive front, the Mountaineers set single-season school records for total offense (6,526 yards in 2012) and passing yards (4,509 in 2011).

• In 2011, his line helped West Virginia average 37.6 ppg, while ranking sixth in the nation in passing (346.8 ypg).

• Was part of an Arizona offensive unit that led the Pac-10 and ranked ninth in the nation in passing (307.7 ypg) in 2010.

• Coordinated an Arizona rushing game that ranked second in the Pac-10 in 2008 (158.4 ypg) as the Wildcats averaged 402.4 ypg of total offense, the fifth-highest seasonal mark in school history.

• Part of an offensive staff that helped Texas Tech lead the Big 12 in total offense and rank sixth in the nation at 448.8 ypg in 2006. Texas Tech also ranked 13th among FBS teams in scoring at 32.5 ppg.

• Was named NCAA Division II Coordinator of the Year after helping lead Ferris State to a division-best 534 ypg in 1999.

• Began his collegiate coaching career at Oklahoma Pandhandle State in Goodwell, Okla. His wife, Maryde, is a native of Tahlequah, Okla.

• Was a four-year starter at Iowa Wesleyan as a lineman for Mike Leach, who Bedenbaugh later worked for at Texas Tech.

• Orlando Brown (Oklahoma); Unanimous First-Team All-American; Two-time All-Big 12 First Team; Two-time Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year; Outland Trophy Finalist
• Ty Darlington (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 First Team, Campbell Trophy, Wuerffel Trophy, Bowden Award
• Nila Kasitati (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 First Team
• Daryl Williams (Oklahoma), Panthers; All-Big 12 First Team
• Tyrus Thompson (Oklahoma), Panthers; All-Big 12 Second Team
• Adam Shead (Oklahoma); All-Big 12 Second Team
• Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Browns; Consensus All-America First Team, All-Big 12 First Team, Wuerffel Trophy
• Joe Madsen (West Virginia); All-Big East First Team
• Don Barclay (West Virginia); All-Big East First Team
• Eben Britton (Arizona); All-Pac-10 First Team
• Colin Baxter (Arizona); All-Pac-10 Second Team