Football Coaching Staff
Mike Stoops
Associate Head Coach, Defensive Coordinator, Outside Linebackers
Coach Info:
Position: Associate Head Coach, Defensive Coordinator, Outside Linebackers
Year: Freshman
Hometown: Youngstown, Ohio
Alma Mater: Iowa
Graduating Year: 1986
Eligibility: Freshman
Experience: 9 Years

Rejoined the Oklahoma staff in 2012 after an eight-season stint as head coach at the University of Arizona. named him the top assistant coach in Big 12 in February 2014 and named him top recruiter in the Big 12 in 2013.

Has coached 29 NFL Draft picks while players under his direction have combined for 11 national awards, 12 All-America honors, 35 all-conference honors and 45 academic all-conference accolades.

The Sooners led the Big 12 in run defense (106.4 ypg) under his direction in 2014 and did not permit an individual 100-yard rusher.

Revamped the Oklahoma defensive scheme in 2013, giving the Sooners more multiple looks. That move paid immediate dividends as OU led the Big 12 in total defense (350.2 ypg) for the first time since 2006. The Sooners also led the Big 12 in pass defense (212.5 ypg).

In total, the Sooners saw marked improvement in 10 major defensive categories in 2013 under Stoops. OU ranked second in the Big 12 in both rushing defense (137.6 ypg) and scoring defense (22.1 ppg) – a decrease of 55.4 ypg and 3.4 ppg compared to 2012.

Perhaps two of the biggest areas of improvement for the Sooners in 2013 came in term of takeaways (24) and third-down defense (60-178, 33.7%). OU forced eight more turnovers compared to 2012, while the club led the Big 12 and tied for 10th in the nation in terms of third-down conversions permitted. Oklahoma also allowed a league-low 17.9 first downs per game in 2013.

Oklahoma’s pass rush returned to roots of creating havoc in 2013, as well. The Sooners racked up 33.0 sacks, up from 24.0 a year earlier. OU registered 7.0 of those sacks in a 45-31 Sugar Bowl win vs. Alabama.

Making OU’s 2013 defensive accomplishments even more impressive were the host of young players who made immediate contributions, including LB Dominique Alexander and CB Zack Sanchez, who both earned Freshman All-America honors. Sophomore Charles Tapper (First Team) and Eric Striker (Second Team) also earned All-Big 12 accolades from the conference’s coaches.

Presided over a pass defense that ranked second in the Big 12, allowing 206.1 ypg in 2012.

Is the only coach to have an athlete win both the Nagurski Award (best defensive player) and the Thorpe Award (best defensive back) in the same season and has done so twice with Roy Williams (2001) and Derrick Strait (2003).

Four of his five OU defenses finished seventh or better nationally in scoring defense and in the top 10 for total defense from 1999-03.

As head coach at Arizona, guided the Wildcats to a school-record three consecutive bowl games in the 2008, 2009 and 2010 seasons. His 2010 squad reached Arizona’s highest regular-season ranking, No. 9, in the last 13 years while his 2009 team finished second in the Pac 10, its highest finish in 13 seasons.

Posted nine wins over nationally-ranked opponents and defeated a ranked team in each of his first seven seasons at Arizona, establishing 84 program records under his watch.

In 2003, OU was among the FBS’ best in total defense (third), pass defense (second), scoring defense (fifth) and turnover margin (fifth).

The Sooners ranked sixth in scoring defense and 10th in total defense in 2002 after finishing fourth in both scoring and total defense in 2001.

Oklahoma’s 2000 national championship squad was second among FBS squads in pass defense efficiency, fifth in takeaways, seventh in scoring defense and eighth in total defense.

Aaron Colvin (Oklahoma)
Tony Jefferson (Oklahoma), Cardinals
Juron Criner (Arizona), Raiders
Nick Foles (Arizona), Eagles
Trevin Wade (Arizona), Browns
Brooks Reed (Arizona), Texans, 2010 All-Pac 10
Ricky Elmore (Arizona), 49ers
D'Aundre Reed (Arizona), Vikings
Chris Gronkowski (Arizona), Colts
Rob Gronkowski (Arizona), Patriots
Earl Mitchell (Arizona), Texans
Colin Baxter (Arizona), Chargers
Ebon Britton (Arizona), Jaguars
Mike Thomas (Arizona), Jaguars
Antoine Cason (Arizona), Chargers, 2007 Jim Thorpe Award winner, 2007 All-American
Spencer Larsen (Arizona), Broncos
Lionel Dotson (Arizona), Bills
Nate Ness (Arizona), Rams
Nick Folk (Arizona), Jets
Antonio Perkins (Oklahoma), 2003 All-American
Derrick Strait (Oklahoma), 2003 Thorpe Award winner, 2003 Nagurski Award winner, 2003 All-American
Roy Williams (Oklahoma), 2001 Thorpe Award winner, 2003 Nagurski Award winner, 2001 All-American
Brandon Everage (Oklahoma), 2001 All-American
J.T. Thatcher (Oklahoma), 2000 All-American, 2000 Mosi Tatupu Award Winner

All-American at Iowa as DB (1984)
Two-Time All-Big 10 (1983, 1984)
Led Big 10 in Interceptions (1983)
Played in four bowl games at Iowa: 1982 Rose, 1982 Peach, 1983 Gator and 1984 Freedom.