Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 20, 2013

Big 12 Individual Awards

OU Football History & Tradition | First Team All-Conference
Updated Dec. 7, 2016

OU has produced 35 individual All-Big 12 award winners, which is the most for any school in the league.

Offensive Player of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2016  Dede Westbrook  Senior  Wide Receiver
 2015  Baker Mayfield  Sophomre  Quarterback
 2008  Sam Bradford  Sophomore  Quarterback
 2004  Jason White  Senior*  Quarterback
 2003  Jason White  Senior  Quarterback
 2000  Josh Heupel  Senior  Quarterback
Defensive Player of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2011  Frank Alexander  Senior  Defensive End
 2006  Rufus Alexander  Senior  Linebacker
 2003  Teddy Lehman  Senior  Linebacker
 2001  Roy Williams  Senior  Defensive Back
Offensive Newcomer of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2015  Dede Westbrook  Junior  Wide Receiver
 2014  Samaje Perine  Freshman  Running Back
 2004  Adrian Peterson  Freshman  Running Back
 1999  Josh Heupel  Junior  Quarterback
Defensive Newcomer of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2005  C.J. Ah You  Junior  Defensive End
 2003  Donte Nicholson  Junior  Defensive Back
 2002  Lance Mitchell  Junior  Linebacker
 1996  Gana Joseph  Sophomore  Defensive Back
Offensive Freshman of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2004  Adrian Peterson  Freshman  Running Back
 1996  De'Mond Parker  Freshman  Running Back
Defensive Freshman of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2013  Dominique Alexander  Freshman  Linebacker
 2010  Tony Jefferson  Freshman  Defensive Back
 2008  Travis Lewis  Freshman  Linebacker
 2007  Gerald McCoy  Freshman  Defensive Tackle
 2001  Tommie Harris  Freshman  Defensive Tackle
Offensive Lineman of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2016  Orlando Brown  Sophomore  Tackle
 2008  Jon Cooper  Senior  Center
Defensive Lineman of the Year
 Season  Player  Year  Position
 2011  Frank Alexander  Senior  Defensive End
 2010  Jeremy Beal  Senior  Defensive End
Coach of the Year
 Season  Coach  Conference  Overall
 2016  Bob Stoops  9-0  10-2
 2015  Bob Stoops  8-1  11-1
 2008  Bob Stoops  7-1  12-2
 2006  Bob Stoops  7-1  11-3
 2003  Bob Stoops  8-0  12-2
 2000  Bob Stoops  8-0  13-0



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications, Tyler Media, LLC and Griffin Television.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.