OU Football Tradition | Award Winners

Outland Trophy | Official Site
The Outland Trophy is awarded to the best football interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America. It is named after John H. Outland. Outland was one of only a few players in history ever to be named All-America at two positions: consensus All-America honors in 1898 at tackle and consensus All-America honors at halfback in 1899.
Jammal Brown
  2004 | Jammal Brown

Oklahoma offensive tackle Jammal Brown won the 2004 Outland Trophy presented to the nation's most outstanding football lineman. Brown became the fifth Outland winner from Oklahoma and the first since Greg Roberts in 1978.
The Lawton, Okla., native was a two-time All-American and three-time All-Big 12 standout for the Sooners. His senior year, Brown paved the way for running back Adrian Peterson and protected quarterback Jason White -- both Heisman Trophy finalists -- as the Sooners completed a second consecutive undefeated regular season and won the 2004 Big 12 Conference Championship.
Brown led the team in knockdowns and did not allow a sack or a quarterback hurry the entire season. The 2004 Sooner offensive line surrendered just seven sacks in 12 games.
Greg Roberts
  1978 | Greg Roberts

Greg Roberts became the fourth Sooner to win the Outland Trophy, awarded to the outstanding lineman in the country, in 1978.
He was also a consensus All-American in 1978, and also received All-America honors in '77. During his senior year, most of the Sooners' plays were run over his right guard position, as OU led the nation in scoring and rushing and finished second in total offense.
Using his incredible speed and strength, Roberts opened hole after hole for Heisman Trophy winner Billy Sims. He was drafted in the second round by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 1979.
  1975 | Lee Roy Selmon

Part of probably the most famous set of brothers in OU history, Lee Roy Selmon and his brothers gave Oklahoma one of the greatest defenses in history.
Lee Roy Selmon 
Selmon was named a consensus All-American in 1975 and also in 1974 by Newspaper Enterprise Association. His long list of achievements includes the Vince Lombardi Award, Outland Trophy, National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete, GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American and Graduate Fellowship Winner National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame.
Throughout his college career, Selmon was listed as Leroy, then LeRoy, then when his career was over, he finally let everyone know that it's actually spelled Lee Roy.
Selmon was the first pick by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the 1975 NFL Draft and went to six Pro Bowls in his nine years.
In 1994, he became the first Sooner to be inducted into the GTE/CoSIDA Academic Hall of Fame and in 1995 he became the first Sooner to be enshrined in the NFL Hall of Fame.
 Career Statistics
J.D. Roberts
  1953 | J.D. Roberts

J.D. Roberts earned consensus All-America honors in 1953. An outstanding guard on both sides of the ball, Roberts received the Outland Trophy, given to the top lineman in the country, in 1953.
Also during that year, he was named the consensus Lineman of the Year. He adjusted to the college system quickly and became a starter during his sophomore year.
An extremely rugged and aggressive athlete, Roberts was difficult to block, causing havoc for numerous offenses. The two-time all-conference selection was drafted during the 17th round by the Green Bay Packers in 1954.
He went on to coach the New Orleans Saints during 1972-74. He was inducted into the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame in 1993. 
Jim Weatherall
  1951 | Jim Weatherall

Jim Weatherall was a consensus All-American during both 1950 and '51. He opened many of the holes for OU's high-powered offense that finished ninth nationally in rushing offense and seventh in total offense.
He also was the placekicker for the Sooners. Weatherall was the first player in OU history to win the Outland Trophy, awarded to the outstanding lineman in the country.
In 1975, he was inducted into the Helms and Citizens Savings Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame. The two-time all-conference selection was drafted in the second round by the Philadelphia Eagles in 1952.
He was inducted into the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame in 1992.