Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 20, 2013

Don Key Award

OU Football History & Tradition | Updated Dec. 4, 2016

Don Key was a three-year starter for the Sooners, an All-Big 8 guard and potential All-American until cancer surgery ended his football career in 1981. Barry Switzer established the Don Key Award in 1982.
Oklahoma coaches describe the award as the highest honor an OU football player can receive while playing for the Sooners. It goes to the player who best exemplifies the many superior qualities of Key, both on the field and in the classroom.

 Season  Winner  Position  Hometown
 2016  Jordan Wade  DL  Round Rock, Texas
 2015  P.L. Lindley  LB  Round Rock, Texas
 2014  Aaron Ripkowski  FB  Dayton, Texas
 2013  Gabe Ikard  OL  Oklahoma City, Okla.
   Trey Millard  FB  Columbia, Mo.
 2012  David King  DE  Houston, Texas
 2011  Ryan Broyles  WR  Norman, Okla.
   James Hanna  TE  Flower Mound, Texas
   Travis Lewis  LB  San Antonio, Texas
   Corey Wilson  WR  Carrollton, Texas
 2010  Jeremy Beal  DE  Carrollton, Texas
   Adrian Taylor  DT  Mansfield, Texas
 2009  Brody Eldridge  TE  La Cygne, Kan.
 2008  Jon Cooper  C  Fort Collins, Colo.
 2007  Lewis Baker  LB  Carrollton, Texas
 2006  Paul Thompson  QB  Leander, Texas
 2005  J.D. Runnels  FB  Midwest City, Okla.
 2004  Entire Senior Class  -  -
 2003  Kory Klein  DT  Tulsa, Okla.
   Renaldo Works  RB  Tulsa, Okla.
 2002  Brad Davis  OL  Baton Rouge, La.
 2001  Brandon Moore  LB  Freeport, N.Y.
 2000  Entire Senior Class  -  -
 1999  Rodney Rideau  DB  Midwest City, Okla.
 1998  Jason Freeman  TE  Muskogee, Okla.
   Kelly Gregg  DT  Edmond, Okla.
   Terry White  DB  Houston, Texas
 1997  Stephen Alexander  TE  Chickasha, Okla.
   Martin Chase  DT  Lawton, Okla.
   Bruce McClure  C  Tahlequah, Okla.
 1996  James Allen  RB  Wynnewood, Okla.
   Michael McDaniel  WR  Oklahoma City, Okla.
 1995  Milton Overton  OL  Fort Worth, Texas
 1994  Albert Hall  WR  Bay City, Texas
 1993  Mike Coats  LB  Oklahoma City, Okla.
 1992  Steve Collins  QB  Ennis, Texas
   Reggie Barnes  LB  Grand Prairie, Texas
 1991  Chris Wilson  LB  Richardson, Texas
 1990  Larry Medice  OT  Gretna, La.
   Jeff Miller  OT  Bakersfield, Calif.
 1989  Mike Wise  C  Bartlesville, Okla.
 1988  Anthony Phillips  OG  Tulsa, Okla.
 1987  Darrell Reed  DE  Cypress, Texas
 1986  Paul Migliazzo  LB  Kansas City, Mo.
 1985  Tony Casillas  DT  Tulsa, Okla.
 1984  Steve Sewell  RB  San Francisco, Calif.
 1983  Rick Bryan  DT  Coweta, Okla.
   Bob Slater  DT  Tulsa, Okla.
 1982  Jerry Sanders  LB  Garland, Texas

OU Football History & Tradition



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications, Tyler Media, LLC and Griffin Television.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.