Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 08, 2000
OU's No. 1 Doubles Teams Head To The NCAA :: Five Oklahoma tennis players set to compete at nationals. OU's No. 1 Doubles Teams Head To The NCAA

May 8, 2000

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma will be represented at this year's NCAA Men's and Women's Individual and Doubles Tennis Championships. Both programs received automatic bids at the No. 1 doubles position, while senior Dusty Beard (Tulsa, Okla.) earned an automatic berth to the singles portion of the men's individual championship.

Competition for the women's individual and doubles championships will be conducted at the Ralph-Straus Tennis Center on the campus of Pepperdine University, May 22-26. The men's individual and doubles championships will be conducted at the campus of the University of Georgia on May 24-28.

Senior Angela Stroup (Tulsa, Okla.) and junior Viviana Mracnova (Zvolen, Slovakia) became the first doubles team since Monique Malan and Karla Golfin in 1996 to participate in the Women's NCAA Championship. The duo earned All-Big 12 Conference honors and was named the conference's No. 1 doubles position champions earlier this month. They sport an overall record of 16-6.

Beard and senior teammates Charlie Roberson (San Angelo, Texas) and Rick Warren (Austin, Texas) cap off their Sooner careers with their first ever automatic berth into the NCAA Individual and Doubles Championships. Beard is OU's top singles player and earned his third all-conference honor today. The Oklahoma native sports an overall record of 19-10 on the year and had a 9-3 mark when playing regional opponents. Beard was also named the Region V Senior Player of the Year by the International Tennis Association committee last week.

Roberson and Warren are a dangerous duo as the pair has an overall record of 20-14 and were named to the all-conference team today. They also won four of their last six doubles matches and at one point during the season went on a seven-match winning streak. The duo was ranked as high as 30th in the country and fourth in the region. Individually, Roberson also garnished regional honors as he was given the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award.

Individual championship finals will consist of 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships is based on won-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.