OU Wrestling Announces Awards At End-Of-The-Year Banquet :: National finalists Jared Frayer and Josh Lambrecht named Outstanding Wrestlers. OU Wrestling Announces Awards At End-Of-The-Year Banquet

Junior Josh Lambrecht, shown here with OU Head Coach Jack Spates, was named Outstanding Wrestler at the annual awards banquet along with senior Jared Frayer.

April 22, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma held its annual, end-of-the-year banquet on Sunday at the U.S. Postal Center-Marriott in Norman. The Sooners celebrated one its best seasons in recent memory which included a third-place finish nationally, a Big 12 Championship and six All-Americans. Sooner wrestling and coaching legend Port Robertson and OU Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione were on hand. Among the awards given out, senior Jared Frayer and junior Josh Lambrecht were named Outstanding Wrestlers of the Year after both finished as national runners-up.

2001-02 Oklahoma Wrestling Awards

Outstanding Wrestler(s) of the Year:
Josh Lambrecht, Jared Frayer

Outstanding Pinner: Jared Frayer

Newcomer of the Year: Nate Parker

Most Improved Wrestler: Michael Barger

Jimmy White Award: Robbie Waller