OU Men's Basketball Tradition | Five Final Fours M Basketball Main 
  2002 Final Four
With a reputation of doing things early (as noted by their nickname), the Sooners wasted no time in reaching the Final Four, doing so in the first ever NCAA Tournament in 1939 under coach Bruce Drake.
In 1947, Drake again worked his magic and coached OU to the national championship game.
The Sooners played for another national title in 1988 under head coach Billy Tubbs, narrowly falling in an upset to conference foe Kansas.
OU participated in a fourth Final Four in 2002 under Kelvin Sampson and its fifth in 2016 under Lon Kruger. Both teams fell in the national semifinals to Indiana and Villanova, respectively.
1939 Final Four 1947 Final Four 1988 Final Four
1939 Final Four
San Francisco, Calif.
National Semifinals
12-9 Record
1947 Final Four
New York, N.Y.
National Final
24-7 Overall
1988 Final Four
Kansas City, Mo.
National Final
35-4 Overall
2002 Final Four 2016 Final Four
2002 Final Four
Atlanta, Ga.
National Semifinals
31-5 Overall
2016 Final Four
Houston, Texas
National Semifinals
29-8 Overall