OU to Compete in 2012 Old Spice Classic

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 24, 2011

Nov. 24, 2011

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma is one of eight teams that will compete in the 2012 Old Spice Classic men's basketball tournament Nov. 22, 23 and 25 at the HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla., tournament organizers announced Thursday. The other seven teams are Clemson, Davidson, Gonzaga, Marist, UTEP, Vanderbilt and West Virginia.

The 2012 Old Spice Classic will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship game Sunday, Nov. 25.

Sponsors include Old Spice, ESPNU and ESPN's Wide World of Sports. The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) will serve as the event's sponsoring conference for the seventh straight year.

Notre Dame captured the 2010 Old Spice Classic title, while Florida State won the 2009 Classic. Other previous winners include Gonzaga in 2008, North Carolina State in 2007 and Arkansas in 2006.

The Old Spice Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.