Gasso to Coach All-Star Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

May 28, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma head softball coach Patty Gasso has been selected by the National Pro Fastpitch League to coach a NPF All-Star team that will face the U.S. Olympic Softball Team twice this summer, as part of their Bound-4-Beijing Tour.

Gasso will team with Cindy Bristow, a private instructor, as co-head coaches of Team NPF. Bristow was head coach and assistant general manager of the Georgia Pride, which later became the Florida Wahoos, a team in the Women's Professional Softball League.

"It is a pleasure and thrill for me to be coaching such an outstanding and accomplished group of the best the NPF has to offer," Gasso said. "With such an elite group, we will be able to challenge any team at any time!"

Seventeen players make up the roster of the squad that will face the Red, White and Blue. The first game is at 6 p.m., on June 6 at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City and at 3 p.m., on June 14 at Champions Park in Normal, Ill. Both games will be broadcast on ESPN (Saturday, July 5 at 11 a.m. CT for the June 6 game and Sunday, July 13 at 12 p.m. CT for the June 14 game).

Gasso is very familiar with the 17-member squad as four of them hail from the Big 12 Conference including Texas A&M pitcher Megan Gibson, former Texas A&M outfielder Sharonda McDonald, former Cowgirl Shanel Scott and former OU All-American Norrelle Dickson.

Making up the rest of the NPF All-Star roster are Kristen Butler (Florida), Veronica Wootson (Florida State), Jaime Clark (Washington), Kristin Thorson (Cal), Jocelyn Forest (Cal), Carri Leto Martin (Northwestern), Kellie Wilkerson (Mississippi State), Kristen Zaleski (Texas State), Savannah Brown (Georgia Tech), Tonya Callahan (Tennessee), Desirree Serrano (Arizona State), Amber Jackson (Maryland) and Katie Burkhart (Arizona State).