Sooners Are Recognized For On And Off The Court Success

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 15, 2003

April 15, 2003

Norman, Okla. - - Seniors Stephanie Simon and Theresa Schuknecht plus freshman Chelsi Welch were honored at the fifth annual Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar Athlete Breakfast, Tuesday. The event, which was held at the Oklahoma Memorial Union, recognizes academic performance, leadership and community service by OU's student-athletes.

Simon was the reception of the Athletic Director's Leadership and Achievement Awards. The Athletic Director's Leadership award was given to six student-athletes for demonstrating extraordinary leadership in representing the University of Oklahoma and his/her team. It also recognizes the special qualities of being a leader, including mental toughness; ability to work with others; to give respect and gain the respect of others; integrity and accountability. Simon earned the Achievement Award by having the ability to overcome great personal, academic and/or emotional odds to achieve academic success while participating in intercollegiate athletics. She battled back from three knee injuries in her four year career as a basketball player, while maintaining better than a 3.0 grade point average.

Schuknecht was one of four student-athletes who earned the Outstanding Scholar Athlete of the Year Award for attaining the highest level of scholarly and athletic success in the prior calendar year. The Academic All-American maintains a 3.92 GPA in marketing and has had a perfect 4.0 GPA since enrolling at OU in August 2001.

Welch became the fourth women's basketball player in five years to win the Jay Myers Award. This annual award goes to the male and female student athletes who best combine excellence in scholarship, with potential excellence in his/her chosen field of athletic endeavor. Former women's basketball players that received this honor has been Desiree Taylor (1998), LaNeishea Caufield (1999) and Caton Hill (2000). Welch was named the Big 12 Co-Freshman of the Year while ranking second on the team in scoring with 12.1 points per game. She also was one of only two players that played and started all 32 games this season.

Head coach Sherri Coale was presented with the Athletics Council Academic and Student Life Award for Coaches. Coale is a coach who has exemplary encouragement of the personal development and academic achievement of student athletes though principles of life skills.

Athletic Director's Leadership Award
Stephanie Simon

Outstanding Scholar Athlete of the Year
Theresa Schuknecht

Jay Myers Award
Chelsi Welch

Achievement Award
Stephanie Simon

Athletics Council Academic and Student Life Award for Coaches
Sherri Coale



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.