Former Golf Coach to Enter GCAA Hall of Fame
November 22, 2005

NORMAN, Okla. The Golf Coaches Association of America announced today that former University of Oklahoma coach Gregg Grost will be inducted into the GCAA Hall of Fame.

Grost, who coached at OU from 1986 to 2000, led the Sooners to a school-record seven tournament victories in 1989, including the NCAA Championship, and was named the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year. 

He also led Oklahoma to the 1992 Big Eight Championship and was named conference coach of the year.

Grost began his coaching career in 1981 at Lamar University.  He was named Southland Conference Coach of the Year in 1983 and 1985 while leading the Cardinals to league titles in 1982, ’83 and ’85.  He was also named the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year in his final full season at Lamar.

Grost’s teams earned NCAA berths in 17 of his 20 seasons as a head coach.  He coached 19 players who earned All-America honors a total of 33 times, as well as 2000 Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson Award winner Chris James.

Grost currently serves as the executive director of the GCAA.

The Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet will be held on Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2006 at the Hilton Daytona Beach Ocean Walk Village in Daytona Beach, Fla.

OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC