Softball Begins Super Regional Thursday

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 25, 2010

May 25, 2010

#14 seed Oklahoma (46-10) at #3 seed Washington (48-6)
 Game Info  Game 1: Thursday, May 27 | 9 p.m. CT | Live Stats
 Game 2: Friday, May 28 | 7:30 p.m. CT | Live Stats
 Game 3: Friday, May 28 | 10 p.m. CT | Live Stats | If Necessary
 Location  Husky Softball Stadium | Seattle, Wash. | Weather
 Tickets  Sold Out
 Television  Game 1: ESPN2 | Game 2: ESPNU | Game 3: ESPN2
 All games: | Beth Mowins and Jessica Mendoza
 Online  Seattle Super Regional Central

•  Oklahoma is 46-10 overall on the year, marking the 17th consecutive season OU has reached the plateau.
•  OU’s pitching staff has a Big 12-best 1.37 earned run average.
•  Sooner pitchers hold opponents to a .176 batting average and have posted 22 combined shutouts.
•  OU is 11-3 on the road this season. The Sooners last road loss was April 7 at Oklahoma State.
•  The Sooners received an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship as the winner of the Big 12 Championship.
•  Oklahoma won the College Park, Md. regional to advance to the NCAA Super Regionals. It was OU’s ninth NCAA Regional title.
•  The Sooners have traveled 4,744 miles to make it to the Seattle Super Regional.
•  Oklahoma has won 14 straight and has out-scored opponents 77-5 in that stretch.
•  OU is 1-6 in Super Regionals since the format was introduced in 2005.  The Sooners are appearing in their first Super Regional since 2008.
•  Oklahoma’s only win in Super Regional play was a 2-0 win at Arizona on May 24, 2008.
•  The winner of the best two-out-of-three series advances to the 2010 Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

•  Amber Flores, Keilani Ricketts and Jessica Shults were named to the National Fastpich Coaches Association All-Central Region first team.
•  Lindsey Vandever earned NFCA All-Central Region second team honors.
•  Flores is the 2010 Big 12 Player of the Year. She is the first player in league history to earn the honor twice.
•  Vandever is the 2010 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. She is the fourth Sooner to earn the award.
•  Flores, Ricketts, Shults and Vandever were all first team All-Big 12 selections. Katie Norris and Haley Nix were named to the second team.
•  Ricketts was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 Big 12 Championship.
•  Flores, Vandever and Shults were named to the all-tournament team.
•  Nix hit a walk-off three run home run to put the run rule in effect against Missouri on May 16 (9-0).
•  Ricketts has not allowed an earned run in the last 28.0 innings pitched. She last allowed an ER in the fourth inning vs. Texas A&M on May 15.
•  During the 14-game win streak, Ricketts has a 0.39 earned run average and six shutouts.
•  OU is hitting .318 as a team during the span and has scored 77 runs, 68 of which have been manufactured.
•  Shults holds the Oklahoma freshman record for home runs (14) and runs batted in (61) in a season.
•  Shults is second in the Big 12 in total runs batted in (61) and ranks first with a 1.09 per game average.
•  Shults’ 61 RBI are tied for fourth most in a single season at Oklahoma and rank as the ninth best in a single season in the Big 12.
•  Ricketts’ 324 strikeouts this season are the second-most in a single season at OU. Jill Most holds the single season record (356 in 1996).
•  Ricketts leads the Big 12 with a 1.19 earned run average and first in shutouts (14).
•  Flores is OU’s career leader in home runs (53). The mark is four shy of tying the Big 12 career record.
•  Ten Sooners have drawn double-digit walks this season, including five with 20 or more.
•  Vandever is tied for the team lead in doubles with 11 and is two walks shy of her single season best.
•  Brianna Turang ranks fifth in the Big 12 with 20 stolen bases on the season.
•  Three Sooners have career-best hitting streaks in ‘10 (not including freshmen) - Vandever (8), Wendy Trott (5) and Dani Dobbs (4).
•  Five OU players were honored by the Big 12 for their academic efforts - Dobbs and Trott (first team) and Vandever, Norris and Kirsten Allen (second).

•  Washington was awarded the No. 3 national seed and is the defending national champion.
•  UW won the Seattle Regional with wins over North Dakota State (3-0) and North Carolina (1-0 and 2-1 [8]).
•  The Huskies earned an automatic berth to the 2010 NCAA Championship as the regular season Pacific-10 champions.
•  Washington leads the all-time series with Oklahoma, 7-6. The two schools met in Cathedral City, Calif. earlier this season (Feb. 26).
•  Jessica Shults drove in all four Oklahoma runs, including three on a home run, but the top-ranked Huskies prevailed 7-4.
•  The Huskies got three home runs from Danielle Lawrie, Taylor Smith and Nikki Williams in the contest.
•  Oklahoma’s four earned runs tie for the most Lawrie has allowed this season (Hawai’i, Oregon and Arizona State).



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.