Four Sooners On Volleyball Academic All-Big 12 First Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 18, 2003

NORMAN, Okla.    Four members of the Oklahoma volleyball team were named to the 2003 Academic All-Big 12 First Team Wednesday afternoon as announced by the conference offices.  Senior Christina Maynes led the Sooners with the third first team honor of her career.  Senior Yvette Villanueva and sophomores Sheena Werling and Jennifer Adams were named to first team for the first time in their respective careers.

“I am extremely proud of the academic success of these individuals,” said OU head coach Kalani Mahi.  “We have always emphasized academic excellence and this team takes great pride in their class work.  They are excellent examples of ideal student-athletes.”

Complete All-Big 12 Academic Team

Every upper classmen on the volleyball team would have made the Big 12 First Team if they had the necessary requirements.  Players must compete in 50 percent of the team’s matches, while transfers are required to be at the institution for one year before qualifying.  The remaining upperclassmen were disqualified for one of aforementioned reasons, but fulfilled every academic requirement.

Among the 50 volleyball players honored, Texas A&M senior libero Rebecca Wynalda, was nominated with a 4.00 grade point average for the second year in a row.

Kansas State and Texas Tech both placed the most student-athletes on the teams with seven, each six first team members, and one on the second team. 
Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the volleyball academic all-league squad consisted of 42 first-team members combined with eight on the second team. First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.
To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 average or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

OU takes on No. 5 Kansas State, Wednesday inside the Howard McCasland Field House at 7p.m.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.