Redman Named to MLB All-Star Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. - Former Sooner Mark Redman (1994-95), who went 5-0 in June, earned his first trip to an All-Star Game after being selected on Monday to represent the Kansas City Royals at the Midsummer Classic in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Redman is the first Sooner since Russ Ortiz (2003-Atlanta Braves) to be named an All-Star and the eighth in program history. The San Diego, Calif., native helped lead Oklahoma to a national title in 1994 and another trip to the College World Series in 1995, when he was named a First-Team All-American.

"I think anyone would be surprised with getting picked," Redman said. "Pitchers aren't really voted in, I don't think. The All-Star Game is an honor, but ultimately you've got 82 more games in the season to try to play .500 baseball or above."

The left-handed hurler will make his first career All-Star appearance in a familiar place with the All-Star Game being played next Tuesday at PNC Park in Pittsburgh.  He pitched for the Pirates in 2005 and came over to Kansas City in a trade in December. He won five consecutive starts in June, tying a career high, after suffering seven straight starts to begin the season that resulted in either a loss or no-decision.

Redman is 5-4 with a 5.59 ERA in 13 starts this season. He missed most of Spring Training and began 2006 on the disabled list following surgery on his left knee March 3. He made his Major League debut in 1999 with the Minnesota Twins and has since played for the Toronto Blue Jays, Detroit Tigers, Florida Marlins, Oakland Athletics and Pittsburgh Pirates.

Redman becomes Kansas City's first All-Star pitcher since closer Mike MacDougal in 2003. He is the club's first starting pitcher to go to an All-Star since lefty Jose Rosado in 1999.

Below is a list of former Sooners that have played in the MLB All-Star Game.

Mark Redman (1994-95) - 2006, Kansas City Royals
Russ Oritz (1993-95)- 2003, Atlanta Braves
Danny Jackson (1981) - 1988, Cincinnati and 1994, Philadelphia Phillies
Jack Armstrong (1987) - 1990, Cincinnati Reds
Eddie Fisher (1956-58) - 1965, Chicago White Sox
Don Schwall (1957) - 1961, Boston Red Sox
Lyndall McDaniel (1955) - 1960, St. Louis Cardinals
L. Dale Mitchell (1942-45) - 1949 and 1952, Cleveland Indians

-Information from was used in this release.