OU Leads Conference With Nine All-Big 12 Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 16, 2011

March 16, 2011

IRVING, Texas – The fourth-ranked Oklahoma women’s gymnastics squad earned a conference-best nine spots on the 2011 All-Big 12 Gymnastics Team announced Wednesday by the conference.

The All-Big 12 squad consists of the top four conference gymnasts with the highest GymInfo regional qualifying score (RQs) in each event and two all-around competitors.

Five gymnasts (Megan Ferguson, Natasha Kelley, Kayla Nowak, Taylor Spears and Sara Stone) earned OU’s nine spots on the team, with multiple honors from Ferguson, Kelley and Stone.

This marks the fourth-straight season that OU has led the conference in All-Big 12 selections, with at least eight selections in all four seasons.

The Sooners were the only team in the conference that had at least one gymnast represented on all four events.

Ferguson led the team with selections on three events (bars, beam and floor). The junior is ranked No. 1 in the conference on beam, No. 2 on floor and No. 3 on bars.

Ferguson has been named All-Big 12 on both bars and beam for three-straight seasons, while adding the floor honor this year to bring her career total to seven All-Big 12 selections.

Kelley was named All-Big 12 on both bars and beam for the second year in a row.  Last season’s Big 12 Newcomer of the Year is ranked No. 1 on bars and No. 2 on beam in the conference.

2011 All-Big 12 Gymnastics Team | (PDF of all honorees)

Stone earned the All-Big 12 honor on both vault and floor, the junior is ranked No. 2 on both events in the Big 12. 

The award marks Stone’s third consecutive All-Big 12 vault selection and her first floor honor.

Nowak and Spears’ selections were the first for both gymnasts.  Nowak, a sophomore, was named All-Big 12 on floor while freshman Spears earned the honor on beam.

Nowak is also tied for second on floor in the league with teammates Ferguson and Stone, while Spears is ranked No. 4 on beam.

Spears is one of just three freshmen to earn the conference honor, joining Nebraska’s Jamie Schleppenbach (vault) and Iowa State’s Camille Santerre-Gervais (bars).

OU will compete for its unprecedented fourth-straight Big 12 title on Saturday, March 19 at 2 p.m., at the Hearnes Center in Columbia, Mo.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.