OU Named Two Seed at N.E. Regional

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 23, 2009

March 23, 2009

NORMAN, Okla. - The recently crowned 2009 Big 12 Champion Oklahoma women’s gymnastics squad will be the second seed at the NCAA Northeast Regional in Tuscaloosa, Ala., on April 4 at 6 p.m. (CT), announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday. 

The event is hosted by top seed Alabama, fresh off of its sixth SEC Championships title on March 21.  No. 15 Missouri is the third seed after placing third behind Oklahoma and Nebraska at last week’s conference championship.

No. 32 Central Michigan, No. 35 New Hampshire and No. 35 Maryland round out the six-team Northeast regional field.

Central Michigan finished second at the 2009 MAC Championships, while New Hampshire and Maryland finished fifth and sixth, respectively, at the EAGL Championships. 

Tuscaloosa is one of six NCAA regional sites with competition behind held nationwide on April 4.  The top two teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships in Lincoln, Neb., on April 16-18.

Alabama’s Coleman Coliseum will be a familiar venue for the Sooners as OU is making its fourth appearance at the arena in the past three seasons.  Oklahoma placed second at the 2007 NCAA Central Regional is Tuscaloosa in advancing to the NCAA Championships that year. The other two appearances came in regular season meetings in 2009 and 2007.

The Sooners defeated Missouri in both ’09 meetings, while dropping a 196.725-196.525 decision at Alabama on March 13.  OU has not faced the other three Northeast regional teams this season.

Tickets for the event are $10 for adults and $7 for youth and can be purchased through the Alabama Ticket Office at (205) 348-2262. 

Northeast Region – in Tuscaloosa, Ala. (University of Alabama, host)
1. Alabama
2. Oklahoma
3. Missouri
4. Central Michigan
5. New Hampshire
6. Maryland

West Region – in Seattle, Wash. (University of Washington, host)
1. Utah
2. Auburn
3. Illinois
4. Boise State
5. Washington
6. San Jose State

North Central Region – in Iowa City, Iowa (University of Iowa, host)
1. Florida
3. Minnesota
4. Denver
5. Iowa State
6. Iowa

South Central Region – in Fayetteville, Ark. (University of Arkansas, host)
1. Stanford
2. Arkansas
3. Michigan
4. Arizona
5. Southern Utah
6. Arizona State

Central Region – in Columbus, Ohio (Ohio State University, host)
1. LSU
2. Oregon State
3. Ohio State
4. Kent State
5. Kentucky
6. Michigan State

Southeast Region – in Raleigh, N.C. (N.C. State University, host)
1. Georgia
2. Penn State
3. Nebraska
4. West Virginia
5. North Carolina State
6. North Carolina



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.