Boulavsky, Higgins Earn Academic Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 04, 2010

Nov. 4, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. – University of Oklahoma juniors Suzy Boulavsky (Houston, Texas) and Caitlin Higgins (Amarillo, Texas) have been named to the College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District team, the organization announced today. Boulavsky earned first team honors while Higgins was named to the third team. It is the second consecutive year for the duo to be named to the squad.

Boulavsky boasts a 3.95 grade point average in journalism and was one of two juniors named to the first team. Boulavsky joined graduate student Kayla Woodard (Mississippi State), seniors Caitlin Adair (Southern Methodist), Kelly Williamson (New Mexico) and Tracey Lam (Rice), junior Lauren Sears (Southern Miss) and sophomore Sabrina Burns (Stephen F. Austin) on the team. Boulavsky currently leads OU with 3.45 kills per set and 3.77 points per set. She ranks in the top 10 in the Big 12 in both categories.

Higgins has a 3.42 grade point average in multidisciplinary studies. Joining Higgins on the third team were seniors Jade Michaelsen (New Mexico), Elizabeth Graham (Baylor) and Jennifer Doris (Texas) and sophomore Whitney Ellisor (McNeese State). Higgins is averaging 2.47 digs per set for OU.

Previous Sooners to earn the honor are Lacy Barnes (2006, 2007), Francie Ekwerekwu (2008), Hannah Sharp (2007, 2006), Bridget Laplante (2007) and Rachel Jackson (2006).



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.