Sooners Advance Four to Finals

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 04, 2006

AMES, Iowa -- The Oklahoma Sooners advanced four wrestlers to the finals in the 2006 Big 12 Championships at the Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa. No. 9/10 OU has qualified four wrestlers for the NCAA Championships March 16-18, in Oklahoma City, Okla., with their advancement to the finals in Ames. The Sooners are in third place in the team standings, trailing only Oklahoma State by 23 points.

The Sooners had five wrestlers competing in the quarterfinals of the Big 12 Championships. Senior Wes Roberts was the lone Sooner to advance. Roberts, a No. 5 seed defeated No. 4 seed David Bertolino of Iowa State, by a decision of 11-4, in the 174 pound bracket. With the win Roberts moved on to face No. 1 seed Ben Askren of Missouri who defeated Roberts by a decision of 6-3 in the semifinals.

In the 125 pound semifinal No. 1 seed Sam Hazewinkel defeated No. 4 seed Austin DeVoe of Missouri by a major decision of 12-2. It was the second time Hazewinkel has defeated DeVoe this season, the two met earlier in the year with Hazewinkel handing DeVoe an 11-7 defeat. Hazewinkel moves on to the Finals to face Coleman Scott of Oklahoma State. The two faced each other in December in Norman with Hazewinkel winning by a decision of 2-0.

No. 2 seed Teyon Ware advanced to the finals in the 141 pound bracket by defeating No. 3 seed Dominick Moyer of Nebraska by a fall at the 4:45 mark. With the win Ware moves on to face No. 1 seed Nate Gallick of Iowa State. Gallick and Ware will be meeting for the eighth time in their careers and the second time this season.

No. 2 seed Matt Storniolo defeated No. 3 seed Jason Knipp of Iowa State by a decision of 4-2 in the 149 pound semifinal to advance to the finals to face No. 1 seed Zach Esposito of Oklahoma State. Esposito and Storniolo have faced each other twice this season with Esposito claiming both matches.

No. 2 seed Jake Hager moved on to the finals of the heavyweight bracket with his triple overtime victory over No. 3 seed Jon May of Nebraska, 3-2. Hager will face No. 1 seed Steve Mocco of Oklahoma State. Hager and Mocco will be squaring off for the third time this year.

Oklahoma will next compete in the 2006 NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City, Okla., March 16-18 at the Ford Center.

Quarterfinal Matches
133: Patrick Aleksanyan (NU) dec. 3-1 Joe Comparin (OU)
157: Michale Chamdler (MU) dec. 3-2 Will Rowe (OU)
165: Marc Harwood (NU) 11-4 Jarrod King (OU)
174: Wes Roberts (OU) dec. 11-4 David Bertolino (ISU)
184: Rusty Blackmon (OSU) 6-3 Justin Dyer (OU)

Semifinal Matches
125: Sam Hazewinkel (OU) dec. 3-0 Austin DeVoe (MU)
141: Teyon Ware (OU) fall 4:45 Dominick Moyer (NU)
149: Matt Storniolo (OU) TB1 4-2 Jason Knipp (ISU)
174: Ben Askren (MU) dec. 7-3 Wes Roberts (OU)
197: Jake Rosholt (OSU) dec. 8-5 Joel Flaggert (OU)
Hwt: Jake Hager (OU) TB2 3-2 Jon May (NU)

Team Standing
1. Oklahoma State - 58.00
2. Oklahoma - 35.00
3. Missouri - 32.00
4. Iowa State - 25.00
5. Nebraska - 17.00




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.