OU Women's Tennis Completes Day One of TCU Invitational

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
SEPTEMBER 24, 1999

Sept. 24, 1999

FORT WORTH, Texas - The University of Oklahoma women's tennis team was one of six squads competing in today's TCU Tennis Invitational in Fort Worth, Texas. Host TCU advanced four out of five individuals to the championship rounds on Saturday at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center. Sooner Angela Stroup will also appear in the championship round in Flight III.

Stroup, a senior from Tulsa, defeated Debbie Bell of TCU (6-2, 2-6, 6-3) and Barbara Huijgen of Texas-Arlington (7-5, 2-6, 7-5) in two close three-set matches. Stroup will face TCU's Dorrit Huppes in the title match.

Winning their first match of the tournament and appearing in the second round was senior Kristin Guilford, senior Jennie Hamilton and freshman Joni Helleland. In Flight II, Guilford defeated Baylor's Paola Stephens in straight sets (6-2, 7-6) but lost in the second match to Texas-Arlington's Marketa Cizova in three sets (2-6, 6-2, 6-1). Hamilton cruised by McNeese State's Betina Cook 6-1, 6-2, while Huppes eliminated Hamilton in flight III (6-2, 6-1). Helleland won her first collegiate match by sweeping Danielle Blanco of McNeese State in Flight IV (6-3, 6-0), but lost her second match in three sets to Brenna Shackelford of TCU (6-1, 2-6, 7-5).

Junior Viviana Mracnova and sophomore Lauren Allen won their consolation matches by defeating Karin Anderson of Baylor (7-5, 6-4) and Leanne Dalby of Texas Woman's (6-2, 3-6, 6-3).

OU's First Round Results

Flight I

  Maria Stepnova, Texas-Arlington, def. Viviana Mracnova, OU, 6-0, 6-2

Flight II

  Kristin Guilford, OU, def. Paola Stephens, Baylor, 6-2, 7-6

Flight III

  Angela Stroup, OU, def. Debbie Bell, TCU, 6-2, 2-6, 6-3

  Jennie Hamilton, OU, def. Betina Crooks, McNeese State, 6-1, 6-2

Flight IV

  Joni Helleland, OU, def. Danielle Blanco, McNeese State, 6-3, 6-0

Flight V

  Stacey Sabala, TCU, def. Lauren Allen, OU, 6-3, 7-5

Second Round Flight II Marketa Cizova, Texas-Arlington, def. Kristin Guilford, OU, 2-6, 6-2, 6-1 Flight III Angela Stroup, OU, def. Barbara Huijgen, Texas-Arlington, 7-5, 2-6, 7-5 Dorrit Huppes, TCU, def. Jennie Hamilton, OU, 6-2, 6-1 Flight IV Brenna Shackelford, TCU, def. Joni Helleland, OU, 6-1, 2-6, 7-5

Consolation Flight I Viviana Mracnova, OU, def. Karin Anderson, Baylor, 7-5, 6-4 Flight V Lauren Allen, OU, def. Leanne Dalby, Texas Women's, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.