OU Records Second-Place Finish in Texas

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 15, 2010

March 15, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma women's golf team fired a final-round 305 (+17) Monday to finish in second place at the 16-team Claud Jacobs Intercollegiate at the par-72 Victoria Golf Club in Victoria, Texas.  The Sooners, who held a two-stroke lead entering the day, finished the tournament with a three-round 916 (+52), just three shots behind tournament host Texas State.
Sam Houston State placed third with a 938 and was followed by Akron (941) in fourth and Arkansas State in fifth (951).  Individually, Akron's Kristen Hill took home medalist honors with a three-round 223 (+7).
In an event that featured 90 golfers, all six Sooners finished in the top 23.  Ellen Mueller mirrored her team's success by finishing just three strokes behind the tournament champion.  The junior fired a 76 (+4) Monday en route to a three-round 226 (+10) to finish in second place.  It marked the sixth top-five finish of Mueller's career and third of the season. 
Andrea Sellmeyer's 10th-place finish was the best of her career.  The senior carded an 80 (+8) on Monday and registered a three-round 230 (+14). 

Sophomore Brooke Collins fired a season-low 72 Monday (it tied as the tournament's lowest round of the day) and tied for 11th place with her 233 (+17).
Freshman Aly Seng took 16th place after shooting a final-round 79 (+7).  She finished with a 54-hole 235 (+19). 

Rounding out the Sooners' team scoring was senior Chelsey Collins.  She finished in 23rd place after recording a final-round 78 (+6) for a three-round total of 238 (+22).
Freshman Taylor Schmidt, who competed individually, carded a final-round 78 (+6) and shared 14th place with her three-round 234 (+18).
"I'm definitely disappointed," OU head coach Veronique Drouin said of her team's attempt to hold first place.  "It would have been nice to get a win.  We are playing better as a team and I hope we will carry this momentum into our upcoming tournaments.  We have a busy schedule before post-season starts."
The Sooners will head south of the Red River to Austin, Texas, on March 26-28 for the Betsy Rawls Longhorn Invitational, hosted by the University of Texas.

Team Standings:
1. Texas State: 311-302-300=913 (+49)
2. Oklahoma: 310-301-305=916 (+52)
3. Sam Houston State: 313-307-318=938 (+74)
4. Akron: 313-312-316=941 (+77)
5. Arkansas State: 315-315-321=951 (+87)
6. Lamar: 309-307-336=952 (+88)
7. Oklahoma City: 321-320-313=954 (+90)
8. Houston Baptist: 318-325-319=962 (+98)
T9. McNeese State: 322-323-321=966 (+102)
T9. St. Edwards: 326-323-317=966 (+102)
11. Northern Illinois: 328-328-317=973 (+109)
12. McLennan CC: 320-339-319=978 (+114)
13. Stephen F. Austin: 319-339-323=981 (+117)
14. Redlands CC: 327-326-331=984 (+120)
15. Texas- Pan American: 327-341-331=1002 (+138)
16. Brown: 339-343-332=1014 (+150)

Player Standings:
1. Kristen Hill, Akron: 74-77-72=223 (+7)
2. Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma: 79-71-76=226 (+10)
3. Krista Puisite, Texas State: 79-71-77=227 (+11)
4. Valdis Jonsdottir, Texas State: 81-73-74=228 (+12)
T5. Anna carling, Arkansas State: 76-78-75=229 (+13)
T5. Caitlin Bliss, Texas State: 78-78-73=229 (+13)
T5. Gabby de Reuck, Texas State: 73-80-76=229 (+13)
T5. Landa Steward, Sam Houston State: 74-73-82=229 (+13)
T5. Shelby Hardy, Sam Houston State: 75-79-75=229 (+13)

OU Standings:
2. Ellen Mueller: 79-71-76=226 (+10)
10. Andrea Sellmeyer: 74-76-80=230 (+14)
T11. Brooke Collins: 79-82-72=233 (+17)
T14. Taylor Schmidt: 76-80-78=234 (+18)
T16. Aly Seng: 78-78-79=235 (+19)
T23. Chelsey Collins: 84-76-78=238 (+22)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.