Perianu Named to Big 12 10th Anniversary Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 19, 2006

NORMAN, Okla.   Former women’s tennis standout Anda Perianu has been named to the Big 12 Women’s Tennis 10th Anniversary Team, which was announced by the Big 12 office on Wednesday.

Perianu, a member of the OU squad from 2001-2004, has been the most successful player in the program’s history. She qualified for the NCAA Championships in singles for all three season and in doubles during her junior and senior years. By the end of her career, she was a two-time Big 12 Player of the Year and 2004 Big 12 No. 1 singles position champion. Perianu ended her career with a .834 percentage, which remains the highest career record in OU women’s tennis history.

Perianu is among six players named to the 10th Anniversary Team in singles. Katja Kovac (Baylor), Zuzana Zemenova (Baylor), Alena Jecminkova (Kansas State), Michelle Faucher (Texas) and Sandy Sureephong (Texas) round out the list.

Anniversary teams are being chosen for each conference sport during the 2005-06 season in celebration of the Big 12’s 10th Anniversary. To be eligible, student-athletes must have been named to the All-Big 12 First Team at least once in their careers.

Big 12 Women’s Tennis 10th Anniversary Team

Singles School All-Big 12 First Team Season(s)
Katja Kovac Baylor 1999-2002
Zuzana Zemenova Baylor 2005
Alena Jecminkova Kansas State 2000-02
Anda Perianu Oklahoma 2002-04
Michelle Faucher Texas 1997-2000
Sandy Sureephong Texas 1997-99

Doubles School All-Big 12 First Team Season(s)
Urska Juric/Katka Sevcikova Missouri 2002-04
Linda Faltynkova/Katia Kolodynska Oklahoma State 2001-03
Cristina Moros/Sandy Sureephong Texas 1998



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.