Sooners Send 14 to Saturday's Event Finals

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 24, 2012

Feb. 24, 2012

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The University of Oklahoma track and field teams opened competition at the 2012 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships on Friday at the Gilliam Indoor Stadium. The Sooners had 14 athletes qualify for event finals taking place on Saturday. OU ended the day in sixth place on the women’s side and seventh on the men’s side with 19 points each.

Championship Central | Day One Results | Day One Photo Gallery

Claire McConnell became the first Sooner to score on the weekend as she finished seventh in the women’s pentathlon on Friday afternoon. McConnell set collegiate bests in the 60-meter hurdles (8.80), shot put (36-0) and 800-meter run (2:21.53) en route to scoring a collegiate-best 3,811 points. The mark replaces McConnell’s previous best as the second best mark in program history and improves on her 14th-place finish a year ago. Alisa Jenkins scored 3,357 points in her first Big 12 Championship pentathlon.

Katie Adair and Jacy Bennett tied for fourth in the women’s pole vault competition. The pair each earned 4.5 points for OU by clearing 12-9.50. The clearance is a collegiate best for Bennett and the first All-Big 12 honor for the pair. Morgan Nichols finished just out of the scoring with a ninth-place finish (11-9.75).

The women’s distance medley relay team of Molly Ferguson, Shelleyeka Rolle, Natalie Crain and Kelsey Brown ran the sixth fastest time in program history, crossing the line in 11:28.51 to finish fifth. The men’s distance medley team took third as Brandon Doughty, Jamel Wood, Taylor Wardall and Riley Masters combined to run 9:46.10.

Alex Madkins scored at the conference meet for the first time in his career, finishing seventh in the men’s long jump with a season-best 23-8.75. Rylee Rackley maintained her second-place spot on the all-time program list with a collegiate best throw of 57-11.75. Bailey Wagner finished 16th in the event.

Jessica Engel placed in the top eight for a second consecutive year with a seventh-place finish in the women’s 5,000-meter run (16:49.55). A pair of Sooners scored in the men’s 5,000-meter run as Kevin Williams finished third (13:50.28). Williams’ time is a collegiate best for the junior and gives him the third best time in program history. Bill Kogel also scored with a fourth-place finish (13:55.24). Kevin Schwab placed 10th in the event.

Brown and Crain qualified for the women’s 1,000-meter run final on Saturday at 4:45 p.m. CT by turning in the sixth and seventh fastest times in program history, respectively. Brown crossed the line in 2:48.78, while Crain was fifth in 2:49.52. Both times were collegiate bests.

Eric Harasyn ran the top qualifying time in the men’s mile. Harasyn won the second heat in 4:07.41 to qualify for Saturday’s final at 3:55 p.m. CT. Frezer Legesse was second in that same heat, finishing in 4:07.82, also qualifying for the final. George Alex was third in the first heat, qualifying for the final with a time of 4:12.07. Harasyn and Legesse also turned in collegiate best qualifying times in the men’s 1000-meter preliminaries. Harasyn’s time of 2:24.45 was the second best qualifying time and comes in as the third best in program history. Legesse’s 2:24.73 ranks as the fourth best in program history.

Daniel Mazar qualified for the men’s 800-meter final on Saturday at 5:15 p.m. CT with a collegiate best time of 1:51.39. OU will send two men to the 60-meter hurdles final Saturday at 3:20 p.m. CT. Malcolm Anderson automatically qualified with a third-place finish in the second heat of the preliminaries (7.87). Tre Lathan advanced on time as he was fourth in the first heat in 8.00.

A pair of first-timers advanced to Saturday’s 4:35 p.m. CT final in the men’s 400-meter dash. Jamel Wood turned in the fourth fastest qualifying time with a collegiate best 47.24. Ethan Baker was sixth, finishing with a collegiate best 47.43.

Shawna Anderson advanced to the women’s 60-meter dash final Saturday at 3:35 p.m. CT. Anderson ran 7.48 to finish second in the third heat. Sherine Wells ran 7.64 to finish 17th overall in the preliminaries. The duo also ran the 200-meter dash preliminaries but did not advance.

Rolle won the second heat of the women’s 600-yard run in 1:22.49 to qualify for Saturday’s final at 4:05 p.m. CT. Shakeeri Cole finished 16th and did not advance.

Evan Pierson (6.87) and Marcus Anderson (6.96) competed in the men’s 60-meter dash preliminaries but did not advance. Pierson ran a season-best 21.58 in the men’s 200-meter dash prelims missing out on the finals by one spot. Seth Lewandowski ended the first day of the men’s heptathlon with 2,425 points. Action in that event resumes Saturday at 3 p.m. CT.

Live results and live video for the meet are available at

2012 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships Day 1 Individual Results
Friday, Feb. 2012 - Gilliam Indoor Stadium – College Station, Texas
Women’s 60m Dash Prelims (top two in each heat plus next two fastest times): 6. Shawna Anderson (7.48, Q), 17. Sherine Wells (7.64); Men’s 60m Dash Prelims (top two in each heat plus next two fastest times): 10. Evan Pierson (6.87), 13. Marcus Anderson (6.96); Women’s 200m Dash Prelims (top eight qualify for finals): 16. Sherine Wells (24.39), 18. Shawna Anderson (24.75); Men’s 200m Dash Prelims (top eight qualify for finals): 9. Evan Pierson (21.58); Men’s 400m Dash Prelims (heat winners plus next five fastest): 4. Jamel Wood (47.24, Q), 6. Ethan Baker (47.43, Q); Women’s 600-yard Run Prelims (heat winners plus next three fastest): 3. Shelleyeka Rolle (1:23.19, Q), 16. Shakeeri Cole (1:27.01); Men’s 800m Run Prelims (top three in each heat plus next two fastest times): 7. Daniel Mazar (1:51.39, Q); Women’s 1000m Run Prelims (top three in each heat plus next two fastest times): 3. Kelsey Brown (2:48.78, Q), 5. Natalie Crain (2:49.52, Q); Men’s 1000m Run Prelims (top three in each heat plus next two fastest times): 2. Eric Harasyn (2:24.45, Q), 7. Frezer Legesse (2:24.73, Q); Men’s Mile Prelims (top three in each heat plus next two fastest times): 1. Eric Harasyn (4:07.41, Q), 3. Frezer Legesse (4:07.82, Q), 6. George Alex (4:12.07, Q); Women’s 5000-meter Run: 7. Jessica Engel (16:49.55); Men’s 5000m Run: 3. Kevin Williams (13:50.28), 4. Bill Kogel (13:55.24), 10. Kevin Schwab (14:13.23); Men’s 60m Hurdles (top three in each heat plus next two fastest times): 5. Malcolm Anderson (7.87, Q), 8. Tre Lathan (8.00, Q); Women’s Distance Medley Relay: 5. Ferguson, Rolle, Crain, Brown (11:28.51); Men’s Distance Medley Relay: 3. Doughty, Wood, Wardall, Masters (9:46.10); Women’s Pole Vault: 4. Katie Adair and Jacy Bennett, 3.75 (12-9.50), T9. Morgan Nichols, 3.60 (11-9.75); Men’s Long Jump: 7. Alex Madkins 7.23 (23-8.75); Women’s Weight Throw: 7. Rylee Rackley, 17.67 (57-11.75), 16. Bailey Wagner, 16.06 (52-8.25); Women’s Pentathlon: 7. McConnell (3811), 15. Jenkins (3357); Men’s Heptathlon (Day 1): 13. Seth Lewandowski (2425)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.