2004 Wrestling Academic All-Big 12 Team Announced

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 02, 2004

The Big 12 Conference honored 22 student-athletes who have been named to the 2004 Wrestling Academic All-Big 12 Team on Tuesday. 

 Four Sooners were honored with All-Big 12 First Team honors and the second team honored one.  Senior Daniel Caruthers, junior Randy Sulaver, redshirt-freshman Justin Dyer and redshirt-freshman Sam Hazewinkel all were awarded first team honors.  Senior Danny Rubenstein was the lone member on the second team.

 The Wrestling Academic squad consisted of 16 first team members and six members on the second team.  To qualify for first team student-athletes must maintain a 3.20 grade point average or higher, while the second team must have an average of 3.00 to 3.19.  All athletes must have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled meets.  Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence, but seniors who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except participation are eligible. 

Daniel Caruthers        Senior                         Studio Arts
Randy Sulaver           Junior                          Zoology
Justin Dyer                Redshirt-Freshman    Political Science
Sam Hazewinkel        Redshirt-Freshman    Education-Undecided

Danny Rubenstein    Senior                         Management Information Systems



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.