Sooner Wrestling Holds End of the Year Banquet

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 18, 2003

April 19, 2003

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma held its annual, end-of-the-year banquet on Saturday at the U.S. Postal Center-Marriott in Norman. Oklahoma celebrated NCAA champions Robbie Waller and Teyon Ware with Outstanding Wrestler of the Year awards. This marked the first year since 1985 that Oklahoma recorded multiple national champions. The Sooners also saw conference championships from senior Bo Maynes and Ware.

2002-03 Oklahoma Wrestling Awards

Outstanding Wrestler(s) of the Year: Robbie Waller and Teyon Ware

Outstanding Pinner: Josh Lambrecht

Newcomer of the Year: Teyon Ware

Most Improved Wrestler: Bo Maynes

Jimmy White Award: Josh Lambrecht and Tom Grossman

Letterwinners: Brad Knecht, Joel Tapler, Danny Rubenstein, Jake Hager, Wes Roberts, Rafael Maturino, Bo Maynes, Tom Grossman, Witt Durden, Teyon Ware, Josh Lambrecht and Robbie Waller.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.