Five Wrestlers Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors
March 01, 2005

DALLAS, Texas   The Big 12 Conference named 26 student-athletes to the 2005 Wrestling Academic All-Big 12 teams, Tuesday. Three Sooners were honored by being named All-Big 12 First Team and two were awarded second team.  

Sophomore Justin Dyer, sophomore Sam Hazewinkel and senior Randy Sulaver all were awarded first team honors, while redshirt freshman Joe Comparin and junior Jake Hager earned second team.

Among the honorees, Dyer was nominated with a 4.00 grade point average. It marks the second conference academic honor for the 184 pound wrestler.

The Wrestling Academic squad consisted of 21 first team members and five second team members. To qualify for first team student-athletes must maintain a 3.20 grade point average or higher, while the second team must have an average of 3.00 to 3.19.
All athletes must have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled meets. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence, but seniors who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except participation are eligible.

* Justin Dyer, So., Political Science
Sam Hazewinkel, So., Communications
* Randy Sulaver, Jr., Zoology-Biomedical Sciences

Joe Comparin, RS-Fr., General Management
Jake Hager, Jr., Finance
* indicates nominated with a 4.00 GPA

OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC