Women's Golf Opens in Rockies

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
SEPTEMBER 19, 2008

Sept. 19, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma women’s golf team tees off its fall season Monday through Wednesday (Sept. 22-24) at the Ron Moore Invitational in Highlands Ranch, Colo.  The University of Denver will host the 13-team tournament, which will be played at the 6,605-yard, par-72 Highlands Ranch Golf Course.

OU veterans Kendall Dye (senior), Andrea Sellmeyer (junior) and Ellen Mueller (sophomore) will compete at the opening tournament, along with newcomers Sara Hemingway, a transfer from Texas A&M, and freshman Kelly Short.  Freshman Brooke Collins will represent OU individually.

“We have never played at Highlands Ranch, but it looks like lag putting and knock down shots will be what is called for at this course,” OU head coach Carol Ludvigson said.  “We are excited to get started and we have quite a different lineup (than last year), but that just proves how much depth we have on our roster.”

The Sooners are coming off a successful 2007-08 season that saw them deliver three tournament wins, finish fifth at the Big 12 Championship, qualify for the NCAA West Regional and finish 39th in the Golfweek rankings.  Six Sooners return from last year’s squad, while three newcomers join the group.

Pre-Tournament Notes (PDF)

“Their strength is that they are very hard workers out on the course,” Ludvigson said of her golfers.  “They will never give up and they believe in one another.  They have a lot of loyalty for one another and will fight to the end for each other.”

Dye, who last year moved up to No.2 on the school’s all-time career stroke average list (76.90), and Mueller, who started all 11 tournaments of the 2007-08 season, have both matured in their individual games in the past year.  Both competed in the U.S. Women’s Amateur in August, with Mueller advancing to the round of 16.

Ludvigson hopes strong play in season openers will continue for Oklahoma this year at the Ron Moore Invitational.  OU won the Badger Invitational to start the 2007-08 season and finished in third place in the same event to begin 2006-07.

“We will be focusing on being smart with our course management, putting well and scoring on our par 3’s throughout the tournament,” Ludvigson said.  “It will be a very competitive tournament and we hope to be in the top three at the end as a team.  We also hope to have one of our individuals fighting for medalist honors.”

Also competing in the tournament will be Arkansas-Little Rock, Baylor, Denver, Iowa State, Kentucky, Northern Colorado, San Jose State, TCU, UC-Davis, UC-Irvine, UNC-Wilmington and Wyoming.

The teams will play 18 holes each day beginning at 8 a.m. MDT.

1. Ellen Mueller (Sophomore):
Recorded seven top-25 finishes and two top-10 finishes as a freshman last year ... Advanced to final 16 of 2008 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship in August.
2. Kendall Dye (Senior): Named to the 2008 Big 12 Championship All-Tournament Team ... Posted OU’s second-best scoring average last year (76.0) ... Earned co-medalist honors at 2008 Susie Maxwell Berning Classic.
3. Sara Hemingway (Sophomore): Transfer from Texas A&M ... Competed in three tournaments as a freshman ... Named 2004 Texas Junior Golf Tour player of the year.
4. Kelly Short (Freshman): Muncie, Ind., product who finished third in last year’s in Indiana state tournament.
5. Andrea Sellmeyer (Junior): Played in two tournaments last year ... Finished in a tie for 34th at the Susie Maxwell Berning Classic.
Individual: Brooke Collins (Freshman): Sister of OU junior Chelsey Collins.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.