Schutte Named Newcomer of the Year

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 02, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. --   University of Oklahoma freshman men's golf standout Jesse Schutte was named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, the league office announced Wednesday. The Florence, Ore., native joins former OU All-American Anthony Kim who won the award in 2004.

The official All-Big 12 awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Schutte has carded four top-20 finishes this season including a 11th place showing at the Big 12 Championships in Hutchinson, Kan., last week.  In his final tournament before the conference championship, Schutte carded rounds of 68, 70 and 70 for a season-best fifth-place finish at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational.   

Starting the spring semester in fine fashion, Schutte opened up the UH-Hilo Invitational with a collegiate-best 67 on Feb. 7.

The Sooners are awaiting a May 7 announcement on whether they were invited to postseason play.  OU wraps up the regular season May 12-13 as it hosts a 10-team field at The Maxwell, held at the par-70 Dornick Hills Country Club in Ardmore.


All-Big 12 Team
Gary Woodland, Kansas, Sr.
Brady Schnell, Nebraska, Sr.
Tyler Leon, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State, Jr.**
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State, So.
Kevin Schultz, Texas, Jr.
Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M, So.
Robert Gates, Texas A&M, Jr.
Martin Piller, Texas A&M, Jr.
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech, Sr.

Player of the Year
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year
Jesse Schutte, Oklahoma, Fr.

Coach of the Year
Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State

**Unanimous Selection



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.