Big Weekend on Tap for Split Sooner Squad

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 10, 2011

Feb. 10, 2011

NORMAN, Okla. — The Oklahoma Track and Field program will split for the second consecutive week with athletes heading to Arkansas, Ohio and Washington. Both the Oklahoma men and women enter the weekend ranked No. 15 nationally as the majority of the squad will compete in Fayetteville, Ark., in the Tyson Invitational while the distance groups head to Seattle for the Husky Classic. The throws group rounds out the travel parties with the Akron Invitational in Akron, Ohio. All three meets are two-day events kicking off on Friday.

Generally regarded as one of the nation’s best distance tests, the Husky Classic is run on a flat 307-meter Mondo track that has become known as one of the faster indoor tracks in the nation. A strong field will also be available to test the Oklahoma group as the men’s field features 12 nationally ranked teams and the women’s field will have eight nationally ranked squads.

While the Husky Classic is regarded as one of the toughest distance tests, the Tyson Invitational annually produces some of the nation’s best times and marks in the sprints and jumps. This year should be no exception with a new banked Mondo track and a men’s field that will feature 13 ranked teams while the women’s field 14 teams ranked in the nation’s top 25. Many nationally ranked teams will split their runners, sending distance athletes to the Husky Classic and sprinters and jumpers to the Tyson Invitational.

Husky Live Video | Tyson Live Results | Akron Live Results

A throws group of eight athletes rounds out the Oklahoma travel plans for the weekend as they head to Akron, Ohio, for the Akron Invitational. The group will take on a field that features five ranked men’s teams and four ranked women’s teams. The throws field will feature a group of ranked athletes including the women’s shot put that has three of the nation’s top nine throwers competing including OU’s Karen Shump at No. 3 and Tia Brooks at No. 9.

Ranked Battles including Oklahoma Athletes:

Husky Classic
Men's 5,000-Meter Run:
Kevin Schwab (OU), George Alex (OU), Bill Kogel (OU), No. 4 Colby Lowe (Oklahoma State), No. 6 Ryan Collins (Virginia), No. 8 Elliott Heath (Stanford), No. 14 Ben Cheruiyot (Auburn), No. 16 David Adams (Nebraska), No. 21 Stephen Sambu (Arizona)< No. 30 Richard Medina (Colorado), No. 31 Eric Fernandez (Arkansas), No. 32 Mohammad Ahmed (Wisconsin)
Men's Mile (Heat 7): Frezer Legesse (OU), No. 11 Dylan Ferris (Stanford), No. 22 Kris Gauson (Butler), No. 26 Raul Botezan (Oklahoma State), N0. 31 Patrick McGregor (Texas)
Men's Mile (Heat 8): No. 19 Eric Harasyn (OU), No. 3 Mac Fleet (Oregon), No. 8 Ryan Foster (Penn State), No. 9 Abdi Hassan (Arizona), No. 20 Duncan Phillips (Arkansas)
Men's 800-Meter Run (Heat 4): Chris Sweeney (OU), Malcolm Wankel (OU), No. 39 Justin Hedin (BYU)
Men's 800-Meter Run (Heat 6): Scott Cooper (OU), No. 14 Joe Abbott (Washington State), No. 16 Lion Williams (Penn State), No. 20 Erik Sowinski (Iowa)
Women's 3,000-Meter Run: Jessica Engel (OU), No. 19 Betsy Jimenez (Texas), No. 20 Tara Erdmann (Loyola), No. 33 Caitlin Lane (Penn State), No. 35 Hannah Moen (Arizona)
Men's 3,000-Meter Run: No. 19 Kevin Williams (OU), No. 2 German Fernandez (Oklahoma State), No. 12 Matt Centrowitz (Oregon), No. 16 Colton Tully-Doyle (Washington), No. 17 Reed Connor (Wisconsin), No. 20 Emmanuel Bor (Alabama), No. 22 Sam Chelanga (Liberty), No. 30 Ben Blakenship (Minnesota), No. 32 Collin Jarvis (California)

Akron Invitational
Women's Shot Put:
No. 3 Karen Shump (OU), No. 9 Tia Brooks (OU), No. 6 Rebecca O'Brien (Buffalo), No. 21 Allison Liske (Michigan), No. 24 Chinwe Okoro (Louisville)
Men's Shot Put: Conrad Aaron (OU), No. 11 Blake Eaton (Penn State), No. 12 Robert Golabek (Buffalo)
Men's Weigh Throw: No. 8 K.P. Singh (OU), No. 16 Matt Pfleger (Kent State), No. 33 Matthew Gac (Buffalo)

Tyson Invitational
Men's 60-Meter Hurdles (Heat 4):
No. 12 Malcolm Anderson (OU), No. 16 Keith Hayes (Kentucky)
Women's 60-Meter Hurdles (Heat 1): No. 18 Latoya Greaves (OU), No. 14 Evonne Britton (Penn State)
Women's 60-Meter Hurdles (Heat 8): Jesica Ejesieme (OU), No. 7 Tenaya Jones (LSU)
Women's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 2): No. 24 Shawna Anderson (OU), No. 1 Lakya Brookins (South Carolina), No. 3 Lynne Layne (UCF)
Women's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 3): No. 12 Scottesha Miller (OU), Sherine Wells (OU)
Women's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 12):
Latoya Greaves (OU), No. 7 Semoy Hackett (LSU), NO. 24 Ashley Dukes (Miami), No. 30 Chaniqua Corinealdi (TCU)
Women's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 13): No. 17 Candyce McGrone (OU), No. 3 Stormy Kendrick (Clemson), No. 33 Toshika Sylvester (LSU)
Men's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 2): Evan Pierson (OU), No. 32 Zye Boey (Eastern Illinois)
Men's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 4): Jeremy Rankin (OU), No. 6 Horatio Williams (LSU)
Men's 60-Meter Dash (Heat 8): No. 1 Mookie Salaam (OU)
Women's Pole Vault Invitational: Alexandra Acker (OU), No. 1 Tina Sutej (Arkansas), No. 4 Shade Weygandt (Texas Tech), No. 5 Rachel Laurent (LSU), No. 14 Tara Diebold (Arkansas), No. 14 Vera Neuenswander (Indiana), No. 20 Kelsie Ahbe (Indiana), No. 26 Jaci Perryman (Kansas), No. 31 Neal Tisher (Mississippi)
Women's Long Jump Invitational: No. 15 Ti'Anca Mock (OU), No. 2 Jamesha Youngblood (Oregon), No. 3 April Sinkler (Clemson), No. 8 Whitney Gipson (TCU), No. 9 Amy Harris (Florida State), No. 10 Nina Kokot (Kansas State), No. 12 Sonnisha Williams (UCF), No. 27 Francine Simpson (Kansas), No. 27 Charachesicia Lockhart (Louisville), No. 30 Jennifer Clayton (LSU), No. 33 Bianca Fung (Penn State)
Women's 200-Meter Dash (Heat 1): No. 13 Candyce McGrone (OU), No. 5 Sheniqua Ferguson (Auburn), No. 9 Amber Purvis (Oregon)
Women's 200-Meter Dash (Heat 5) No. 7 Scottesha Miller (OU), No. 26 Brianna Rollins (Clemson)
Men's 200-Meter Dash (Heat 2): No. 8 Mookie Salaam (OU), No. 2 Antonio Sales (South Carolina), No. 5 Maurice Mitchell (Florida State), No. 28 LaShawn Butler (Arkansas)
Men's 200-Meter Dash (Heat 9): Evan Pierson (OU), No. 19 Keith Talley (LSU), No. 40 Ben Major (North Carolina State)
Men's 4x400-Meter Relay (Heat 1): No. 10 OU, No. 3 Florida, No. 16 Arkansas
Women's High Jump Invitational: Chenale Smith (OU), No. 3 Brittani Carter (LSU), No. 4 April Sinkler (Clemson), No. 14 Nora Mehl (UAB)
Women's Triple Jump Invitational: No. 9 Jasmine Simmons (OU), No. 1 Kimberly Williams (Florida State), No. 2 Colleen Felix (Georgia), No. 3 April Sinkler (Clemson), No. 4 Melissa Ogbourne (LSU), No. 10 Namatirai Grace Mavugara (George Mason), No. 11 Michelle Jenije (Florida State), No. 13 TiAra Walpool (Kansas State), No. 16 LaTroya Darrell (Georgia), No. 17 Andrea Guebelle (Kansas), No. 20 Shantel Thompson (Arkansas), No. 21 Amy Harris (Florida State), No. 34 Clariss Andrews (Oklahoma State)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.