Feb. 10, 2001

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

AMES, Iowa - The quartet of Ernest Lewis, Moses Washington, Raoul Harvey and LaBoris Bean combined for a 3:08.23 in the 1600-meter relay to win the ISU Classic and post an NCAA provisional qualifying mark Saturday. The meet was held at the ISU Recreation/Athletics Building. The time was the lowest for the Sooners by more than 4 seconds and just 2 seconds off the automatic qualifying mark in the event. It marked only the second time this season for the Sooners to compete in the 1600-meter relay.

LaKisha Robinson led the Sooner women on Saturday, running a 1:24.55 to win the 600-yard run title. Sooner volunter coach, Kurt Hanna, won the men's pole vault title with a jump of 17-6.50.

Lewis finished second in the open 400 with a season-best and NCAA provisional time of 46.73 and Bean was seventh with a season-best 47.52. Staneshia Bell finished second in the women's 60 with a 7.50. Aleesha Peel was third in the women's 60-meter hurdles with an 8.37, the third week in a row that she has posted an NCAA provisional time. Senior Bambi Carson recorded her third consecutive 50-plus effort in the shot put, finishing fourth in the event with a toss of 50-3.25. That also was an NCAA provisional mark.

The Sooners return to Norman to host the Sooner Indoor next Saturday, the final home meet of the indoor season.