Secrest Named To Women's Soccer All-Big 12 Second Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 02, 1999

Nov. 2, 1999

NORMAN, Okla. - Christen Secrest, a sophomore defender on the University of Oklahoma women' soccer team, was named to the All-Big 12 second team, the conference office announced today. Secrest became the first Sooner in the four-year history of the OU soccer program to be honored as an all-conference performer.

A starter in all 18 of Oklahoma's games this season, Secrest registered two shots and scored a goal. It was her play on the defensive side of the field, however, that garnered her the honor.

"I'm thrilled for her," said OU Head Coach Randy Evans. "We set a school record for goals-against average and she is a main reason. She's our best athlete and has been our most consistent and reliable player in the back. I think we've gained a lot of respect from other teams in the league. We've played almost everybody tough and the biggest reason for that is our defense. I think this honor is great, not just for Christen, but for the OU program."

Nebraska defender Sharolta Nonen was named Big 12 Player of the Year while Iowa State midfielder Katie Antongiovanni was named Newcomer of the Year. Nebraska's John Walker was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Huskers to the regular season league crown. The all-conference teams and individual award winners were selected by the league's head soccer coaches.

Melanie Wilson, Sr., Texas A&MGK
Isabelle Morneau, Sr., NebraskaD
Sharolta Nonen, Sr., NebraskaD
Tamura Crawley, Fr., BaylorD
Amy Walsh, Sr., NebraskaMF
Jenny Benson, Jr., NebraskaMF
Meghan Anderson, So., NebraskaMF
Nikki Thole, Jr., MissouriF
Lindsay Eddleman, Sr., NebraskaF
Nicky Thrasher, Jr., Texas A&MF
Courtney Saunders, Sr., BaylorF

Dawn Greathouse, Jr., Baylor GK
Christen Secrest, So., Oklahoma D
Martha Moore, Fr., Texas A&M D
Amber Reynolds, Jr., Texas A&M D
Jennifer Hamm, Jr., Texas Tech MF
Katie Antongiovanni, Fr., Iowa State MF
Juli Goin, So., Baylor MF
Erica Florez, So., Iowa State F
Erin Grimsley, Sr., Missouri F
Kelly Rheem, So., Nebraska F
Christine Latham, Fr., Nebraska F

Player of the Year - Sharolta Nonen, Sr., D, Nebraska
Newcomer of the Year - Katie Antongiovanni, Fr., MF, Iowa State
Coach of the Year - John Walker, Nebraska



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.