Alex Breaks Mile Program Record at Tyson

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 11, 2012

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Oklahoma track and field teams tallied 14 collegiate bests and had a trio of runners turn in impressive performances in the men’s mile championship on the final day of the Tyson Invitational. George Alex, Frezer Legesse and Eric Harasyn became the first Oklahoma runners to break the 3:58 mark in the event. Alex set a new program standard, finishing second in three minutes, 58.76 seconds. Legesse (3:58.95) and Harasyn (3:58.99), finished in fourth and fifth, respectively. It was the first time Alex and Legesse broke the sub four-minute mark in their careers.

For Alex, it’s his second Oklahoma program record this year, having previously set the 3,000-meter run record on Jan. 28 on the same track. His mile time is the fastest in the Big 12 Conference this year.

Tyson Invitational Day Two Results

Riley Masters turned in the second fastest time in program history to win the men’s 3,000-meter run championship. Masters overtook Wisconsin’s Maverick Darling in the final 200-meters to win his first event as a Sooner. Masters’ time is the 11th fastest in the nation this year and third fastest in the Big 12 Conference. Bill Kogel came in third, running a collegiate best 7:56.04, the third fastest time in program history.

Daniel Mazar set a new collegiate best and recorded the 10th best time in program history, finishing the men’s Olympic Development 800-meter run in 1:51.62.

Daniel Nicolls turned in a collegiate best time of 8:15.39 to finish sixth in the men’s college 3,000-meter run. Josh Gracia also competed, finishing in a collegiate-best 8:31.97.  Brandon Doughty finished 12th in the men’s 800-meter run. Doughty completed the race in a personal-best 1:52.48.

Kelsey Brown ran the fifth-fastest mile in program history, crossing the line in 4:46.50. Molly Ferguson came in at a season-best 4:59.66 in the same event.

Shakeeri Cole took sixth in her first 800-meter run of the season, crossing the line in 2:13.76. Sherine Wells ran a season-best 24.32 to win her heat in the women’s 200-meter dash timed finals.

Cole and Wells teamed up with Claire McConnell and Shelleyeka Rolle to finish eighth in the women’s 4x400-meter relay. The team turned in a top time of 3:43.65 in the third heat. The men’s team of  Ethan Baker, Michael Ervin, Evan Pierson and Jamel Wood turned in a season-best 3:11.66 to finish fourth overall.

A trio of Sooners won their respective heat in the men’s 200-meter dash timed finals. Baker led the group with a collegiate-best 21.58, while Wood also ran a collegiate best time in 21.70. Pierson won the second to last heat of the event with a season-best 21.72. Marcus Anderson was the only one of the quartet not to win his heat. Anderson crossed the line in 22.19.

Hilary Krein (9:54.43) and Kelly Waters (9:56.33) each set collegiate bests in the women’s 3,000-meter championship run. Natalie Crain finished in a collegiate-best 2:11.21 in the Olympic Development flight of the event.

Jake Huddleston cleared 15-7.25 to finish seventh in the men’s pole vault. Whitney Johnson set a collegiate best in the women’s triple jump with a leap of 38-4. Wayne Walls’ best jump in the men’s triple jump was 47-7.25.

Oklahoma had a trio of women competing in the women’s weight throw. Bailey Wagner led the group with a throw of 56-0.50, while Angel Togafau (55-7.50) and Rylee Rackley (54-4) followed.

Malcolm Anderson finished eighth in the men's 60-meter hurdles final.

Tia Brooks finished fourth in the women's shot put event with a throw of 59-8.25 in the USA Track and Field Classic. The USATF Classic will air on ESPN2 Sunday on tape delay beginning at 11:30 a.m. CT.

Tre Lathan won the men’s 60-meter hurdles in a collegiate-best 8.00 at the Oklahoma Christian Invitational II. Lathan took fifth in the 60-meter hurdles (7.07). Christian Johnson and Alex Madkins tied for third in the men’s high jump. Each cleared 6-4.75. Madkins came in fifth in the long jump (22-2.50). Seth Lewandowski also competed in several events, including a personal best in the men’s high jump (5-8.75).

Oklahoma returns to action next weekend, hosting the Oklahoma Invitational at the Mosier Indoor Facility in Norman.

Tyson Invitational Results – February 11, 2012 – Fayetteville, Ark.
Women’s 200m Dash: 25. Sherine Wells, 24.32; Men’s 200m Dash: 15. Ethan Baker, 21.58; 19. Jamel Wood, 21.70; 21. Evan Pierson, 21.72; 42. Marcus Anderson, 22.19; Women’s 800m Run (college): 6. Shakeeri Cole, 2:13.76; Women’s 800-meter run (Olympic development): 13. Natalie Crain, 2:11.21; Men’s 800m Run (college): 12. Brandon Doughty, 1:52.48; Men’s 800m Run (Olympic development): 10. Daniel Mazar, 1:51.62; Women’s Mile (championship): 4. Kelsey Brown, 4:46.50; 9. Molly Ferguson, 4:59.66; Men’s Mile (championship): 2. George Alex, 3:58.76 (SR); 4. Frezer Legesse, 3:58.95; 5. Eric Harasyn, 3:58.99; Women’s 3,000-meter Run (championship): 7. Hilary Krein, 9:54.43; 9. Kelly Waters, 9:56.33; Men’s 3000m Run (college): 6. Daniel Nicolls, 8:15.39; 20. Josh Gracia, 8:31.97; Men’s 3000m Run (championship): 1. Riley Masters, 7:54.20; 3. Bill Kogel, 7:56.04; Men's 60-Meter Hurdles (final): 8. Malcolm Anderson, 8.46; Women’s 4x400-Meter Relay: 8. Cole, Wells, McConnell, Rolle, 3:43.65; Men’s 4x400-Meter Relay: 4. Baker, Ervin, Pierson, Wood, 3:11.66; Men’s Pole Vault: 7. Jake Huddleston, 4.76 (15-7.25);  Women’s Triple Jump: 16. Whitney Johnson, 11.68 (38-4); Men’s Triple Jump: 15. Wayne Walls, 14.51 (47-7.25); Women’s Weight Throw: 10. Bailey Wagner, 17.08 (56-0.50); 12. Angel Togafau, 16.95 (55-7.50); 14. Rylee Rackley, 16.56 (54-4)

USATF Classic Results – February 11, 2012 – Fayetteville, Ark.
Women’s Shot Put: 4. Tia Brooks

Oklahoma Christian Invitational II – February 11, 2012 – Norman, Okla.
Men's 60-Meter Dash: 5. Tre Lathan, 7.07; Men's 60-Meter Hurdles: 1. Tre Lathan, 8.00; 13. Seth Lewandowski, 9.34; Men's High Jump: 3. Christian Johnson and Alex Madkins, 1.95 (6-4.75), 9. Seth Lewandowski, 1.75 (5-8.75); Men's Long Jump: 5. Alex Madkins, 6.77 (22.2.50); Men's Shot Put: 16. Seth Lewandowski, 12.05 (39-6.50)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.