Eight Named Academic All-Big 12

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 18, 2009

March 18, 2009

IRVING, Texas - Eight University of Oklahoma women's gymnasts have been named to the 2009 Academic All-Big 12 Gymnastics Team, including six first-team members, the conference announced Wednesday.

It's an additional two gymnasts from last season, when the Sooners had six members of the squad earn the distinction (four on the first team).  OU's eight honorees were second only to Iowa State's Big 12-leading nine honors.

Garnering first-team accolades in 2008-09 were Haley DeProspero (health and exercise science), Jackie Flanery (human relations), Jessica Kinder (health and exercise science), Gina Lesko (zoology), Natalie Ratcliff (elementary education) and Hollie Vise (human relations).  

Representing Oklahoma on the second team were Ashley Jackson (zoology) and Melanie Root (human relations). 

DeProspero earned first-team honors for the third consecutive year, while Flanery, Kinder and Jackson made the list for the second straight time.     

First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.  To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


All but one gymnast from the current OU squad that met the classification/participation requirement was selected for the Academic All-Big 12 Team (nine of 10).     

The reigning Big 12 champion OU women's gymnastics squad travels to Ames, Iowa, on Saturday, March 21, in search of consecutive conference titles for the first time since reeling off three-straight Big Eight crowns from 1984-1986. 

Action begins at 2 p.m. (CT) from Hilton Coliseum, while the Sooners drew beam for their opening rotation. 



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.