Borman Shatters Records in Javelin Win

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 08, 2012

April 8, 2012

TEMPE, Ariz. – The University of Oklahoma’s Brittany Borman shattered the record books Saturday evening with her win in the women’s javelin throw at the 33rd annual Sun Angel Classic. Borman’s mark of 194 feet, 11 inches is a new Oklahoma program record, besting Amy Backel’s mark of 182-5 set in 2010. The senior unleashed the mark on her first attempt of the evening, which was also her first competition throw in the event this season.

The American-leading throw set a Sun Angel Stadium facility and meet record and is tied for the 15th best throw in the world this year. The mark ranks Borman sixth on the United States all-time outdoor list and ranks her seventh on the collegiate list. Amongst American collegiate women, Borman is fifth. The throw also meets the Olympic B standard for the event.

In addition to Borman’s win, Oklahoma won three other events and posted 20 other top-five finishes on the final day of the meet. Natalie Crain won the women’s 800-meter run with a season’s best two minutes, 7.88 seconds, while Molly Ferguson took home top honors in the women’s 1,500-meter run with a season’s best 4:31.22.

Hilary Krein was second behind Ferguson in the 1,500-meter run with a collegiate-best 4:23.77. Shakeeri Cole was fourth in the women’s 800-meter run with a season’s best 2:09.25.

Tre Lathan won the men’s 110-meter hurdles with a time of 13.89 seconds. Nathaniel Winfrey was 11th in the event with a time of 14.84 seconds. Lathan finished eighth in the men’s 200-meter dash with a collegiate-best 21.69 seconds. Winfrey was just behind in 10th with a collegiate-best 21.83 seconds.

Jamel Wood took third in the men’s 400-meter premier section with a time of 46.40 seconds. Ethan Baker ran 46.89 seconds to finish fifth in that same race. Wood also set a collegiate best in the men’s open 200-meter dash, finishing third in 21.22 seconds.

Sherine Wells ran a season’s best 11.68 seconds to finish second in the women’s 100-meter dash premier section. She finished third in the women’s 200-meter premier race, running 23.97 seconds. Shawna Anderson was eighth in the women’s 100-meter dash premier (11.98). Evan Pierson ran 21.71 seconds in the men’s 200-meter premier race and a season’s best 10.62 seconds in the 100-meter premier race.

Baker and Pierson ran the second and third legs, respectively, to combine with Marcus Anderson (first) and Eric Cray (anchor) to finish third in the men’s 4x100-meter relay (40.00). Cray also took third in the men’s 400-meter hurdles, setting a new collegiate-best with a time of 50.57 seconds, the eighth-best in program history.

The team also took second in the men’s 4x400-meter relay with a time of 3:08.59. The women’s team of Shelleyeka Rolle, Wells, Cole and Claire McConnell finished sixth (3:45.30).

Luke Bryant threw 190-3 to finish third in the men’s discus throw premier section.       

Shawna Anderson was fourth in the women’s open 200-meter dash (24.39). Rolle was fourth in the women’s open 400-meter dash (55.33). Alex Madkins took fourth in the men’s long jump, leaping 23-8.25.

Daniel Nicolls (9:16.26) and Patrick Gomez (9:16.60) opened their outdoor seasons in the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase, finishing fifth and sixth respectively.

Kelsey Brown ran a collegiate-best 4:24.89 in the premier section of the women’s 1,500-meter run. It’s the ninth best time in the event in Oklahoma history.

Bailey Wagner took fourth in the women’s discus throw (160-7), while Lauren Guerreri was ninth (147-1). Alex Morgan threw 142-5. Wagner was seventh in the premier section of the women’s shot put (50-10).

Kristen Rice was fifth in the women’s high jump (5-7), while McConnell was eighth (5-5). Alex Acker was OU’s top finisher in the women’s pole vault, clearing 13-1.50 to finish eighth. Jacy Bennett was 10th with a collegiate-best 12-1.50.

33rd Sun Angel Classic Day Two Results
Sun Angel Stadium – Tempe, Ariz. – April 7, 2012
Women’s 100m Dash (premier): 2. Sherine Wells, 11.68; 8. Shawna Anderson, 11.98; Men’s 100m Dash (premier): 13. Evan Pierson, 10.62; Women’s 200m Dash: 4. Shawna Anderson, 24.39; Women’s 200m Dash (premier): 3. Sherine Wells, 23.97; Men’s 200m Dash (premier): 15. Evan Pierson, 21.71; Men’s 200m Dash: 3. Jamel Wood, 21.22; 8. Tre Lathan, 21.69; 10. Nathaniel Winfrey, 21.83; Women’s 400m Dash: 5. Shelleyeka Rolle, 55.33; Men’s 400m Dash (premier): 3. Jamel Wood, 46.40; 5. Ethan Baker, 46.89; Women’s 800m Run: 1. Natalie Crain, 2:07.88; 4. Shakeeri Cole, 2:09.25; Women’s 1500m Run: 1. Molly Ferguson, 4:31.22; 2. Hilary Krein, 4:32.77; Men’s 3000m Steeplechase: 5. Daniel Nicolls, 9:16.26; 6. Patrick Gomez, 9:16.60; Men’s 110m Hurdles: 1. Tre Lathan, 13.89; 11. Nathaniel Winfrey, 14.84; Men’s 400m Hurdles: 3. Eric Cray, 50.57; Men’s 4x100m Relay: 3. Anderson, Baker, Pierson, Cray, 40.00; Women’s 4x400m Relay: 6. Rolle, Wells, Cole, McConnell, 3:45.30; Men’s 4x400m Relay: 2. Baker, Wood, Cray, Anderson, 3:08.59; Women’s High Jump: 5. Kristen Rice, 5-7; 8. Claire McConnell, 5-5; Women’s Pole Vault: 8. Alex Acker, 13-1.50; 10. Jacy Bennett, 12-1.50; Men’s Long Jump: 4. Alex Madkins, 23-8.25; Women’s Shot Put (premier): 7. Bailey Wagner, 50-10; Women’s Discus Throw: 4. Bailey Wagner, 160-7; 9. Lauren Guerreri, 147-1; 13. Alex Morgan, 142-5; Men’s Discus Throw (premier): 3. Luke Bryant, 190-3; Women’s Javelin Throw: 1. Brittany Borman, 194-11



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.