Men's Gymnasts Earn OU Academic Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 16, 2002

April 16, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - Fresh off their 2002 NCAA Championship, two Oklahoma men's gymnasts were honored for their academic accomplishments today at the Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar Athlete Breakfast held at the OU Memorial Ballroom. Senior David Johnston was named the male Conference Medal winner, while freshman Michael Gehart was a Jay Myers Award winner.

The Conference Medal is awarded annually to a male and female student athlete. The recipients of this award exemplify what it means to be a "student" and an "athlete." Johnston, a finance major with a 3.82 grade point average, was also one of eight recipients of the Athletic Director's Leadership Award. The Dallas, Texas, native is the president of the Student Athlete Advisory Board this year.

"David has been an exemplary student," said OU head coach Mark Williams. "He was the co-captain of the team this year and won a national championship. He has a bright future ahead of him."

Another Sooner with a bright future is Gehart. He was one of nine freshman to earn a perfect 4.00 and receive the Jay Myers Award.

"I hope to see Michael follow in David's footsteps," said Williams. "I can see him making a similar impact on the team and University of Oklahoma both athletically and academically."

The men's and women's gymnastics teams boasted five Academic All-Americans in the 2000-2001 academic year in Johnston, Brett Covey, Patricia Aoki, Leticia Ishii and graduate Nicole Tycer. The men's and women's golf also had five Academic All-Americans.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.