Texas Relays Next for Track and Field

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 27, 2012

March 27, 2012

NORMAN, Okla. –The University of Oklahoma track and field teams face the toughest competition to date at the 85th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays this weekend, March 28-31. The Sooners begin competition Wednesday with the women’s heptathlon. Action concludes Saturday afternoon. Live results and a live blog from the meet are available at SoonerSports.com.

The sixth-ranked women’s team has 10 individuals competing, as well as two relay teams, while the men have eight individuals scheduled to compete along with three relay teams.

Texas Relays | March 28-31, 2012 | Live Results | Live Blog

Eric Cray (400-meter hurdles) and the women’s 4x800-meter relay get the track events underway Thursday afternoon. The Sooners close out the first day of track events with section B of the women’s 1,500-meter run at 7:30 p.m. CT featuring Hilary Krein and Kelly Waters.

Friday events begin at 9:30 a.m. CT and include the men’s Clyde Littlefield 4x100-meter relay preliminaries, men’s 110-meter hurdles where Tre Lathan and Nathaniel Winfrey are scheduled to compete, the women’s 100-meter dash with Ti’Anca Mock and Sherine Wells and the men’s 100 with Evan Pierson and Marcus Anderson.

Also getting underway early Friday morning are field events with five Sooners scheduled to compete throughout the day. Kristen Rice competes in section B of the high jump, while Alex Acker and Katie Adair participate in section B of the pole vault. On the men’s side, Conrad Aaron (shot put) is scheduled to compete in section B of that event.

During Friday’s afternoon session, Brittany Borman along with Lauren Guerrieri and Bailey Wagner are scheduled to participate in section A of the discus throw.

The final of day of field events begins at 1:30 p.m. Saturday with Luke Bryant in section A of the men’s discus throw. Wagner (women’s shot put), Mock (women’s long jump) and Alex Madkins (men’s long jump) also compete in section A of those events. Track events begin at 12:35 p.m. with the men’s 4x200-meter relay and the women’s distance medley relay runs at 1:10 p.m. CT.

Oklahoma closes out the meet with the Clyde Littlefield men’s 4x100-meter relay at 2:05 p.m. CT should the team advance from Friday’s prelims. The event finals for the 110-meter hurdles and men’s and women’s 100-meter dash follow should those athletes advance. The final event of the meet is the Cleburne Price, Jr. men’s invitational 4x400-meter relay.

Three Oklahoma athletes are scheduled to open their outdoor season at the Arkansas Spring Invitational on Saturday, March 31. Patrick Gomez, Danny Nicolls and Taylor Wardall all run the 3,000-meter steeplechase at 1:45 p.m. CT.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.