Wrestling Banquet Celebrates 2010 Season

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 01, 2010

May 1, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma wrestling squad celebrated the 2009-10 season Saturday evening with its annual postseason banquet at the U.S. Postal Service National Center for Employee Development in Norman. 

The Oklahoma coaching staff and wrestlers were joined by friends and family in celebration of the past year with dinner and season highlights. Additionally, several Sooners went home with awards handed out by OU Head Coach Jack Spates, Head Assistant Sammie Henson and assistants Michael Lightner and Ross Thatcher.

Kyle Terry was awarded Most Outstanding Wrestler after winning his second-straight Big 12 title at and earning third place at the 2010 NCAA Championships at 149 pounds. 

Also Among the honored were Oklahoma's four seniors - Kyle and Chad Terry, Eric Lapotsky and Shane Vernon - who combined to win 275 matches at OU. Lapotsky was also recognized for his 11 pins at 197 pounds last season, a team-high.

OU's newest All-Americans - Zack Bailey, Kyle Terry, Tyler Caldwell and Laptosky - were also recognized, along with the 2010 letterwinners.

The Jimmy White award, given to a select wrestler on the basis of athletic ability, team contribution, individual achievement and team spirit went to junior Bailey. The Kansas City, Mo., product overcame three shoulder surgeries to place fourth at the NCAAs this past season.

Awarded Most Improved Wrestler was true-freshman Jarrod Patterson.  The Cushing, Okla., product was crowned Big 12 champion just three months after his redshirt was pulled in a match against Oklahoma State on Dec. 1.

Chad Terry picked up the 11th-man award after battling all season for the starting position at 157 pounds with eventual starter Vernon.  Caldwell was named Most Valuable Freshman after his unexpected run through the national tournament where he knocked off three seeded opponents on his way to becoming an All-American.


Jordan Keller and Keldrick Hall earned the Weekly Warrior Award, awarded to wrestlers who most exemplify the concept of teammates.  Vernon and Kyle Terry also picked up the Scholar-Athlete Awards for their exceptional work in the classroom.

The Sooners recorded a 16-3-1 overall record and capped off the season with a fifth place finish at the NCAAs.  The national finish was Oklahoma's highest in four seasons and its four All-Americans marked the most since 2006.

  Sooner Award Winners

Most Outstanding Wrestler:
 Kyle Terry
Jimmy White Award: Zack Bailey
Most Improved Wrestler: Jarrod Patterson
Scholar-Athlete Award: Shane Vernon and Kyle Terry
11th-Man Award: Chad Terry
Most Valuable Freshman: Tyler Caldwell
Most Falls: Eric Lapotsky
Weekly Warrior Award: Jordan Keller and Keldrick Hall

  Sooner Letterwinners

First Year Letterwinners:
 Jarrod Patterson, Kendric Maple, Tyler Caldwell, Erich Schmidtk and Keldrick Hall
Third Year Letterwinners: Zack Bailey, Nathan Fernandez and Jeff James
Fourth Year Letterwinners: Kyle Terry, Chad Terry, Shane Vernon and Eric Lapotsky



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.