Paris Leads Coaches' All-Americans
April 04, 2009

April 4, 2009

ST. LOUIS -- Courtney Paris earned her fourth straight consensus All-America distinction with the announcement of the Oklahoma senior to the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team Saturday morning.

Paris, just the eight four-time State Farm All-American, headlines a group of ten elite women's college basketball players.

"It's an honor to be an All-American," Paris said, "but for all of us, it is really a reflection of the people who are around you -- your family, your coaches and teammates and even fans. No one on this stage could be an All-American without them.

"I've been lucky enough to be year four times now and it gets better every time. This is the best one because I get to share the experience with my teammates."

Paris will lead the Sooners against Louisville in the opening game of the NCAA Women's Final Four Sunday night (ESPN, 6 p.m. Central).

The Piedmont, Calif., native achieved infamy in 2009 by becoming the first college basketball player in history, regardless of gender, to record 2,500 points and 2,000 rebounds in a career and extending her record streak of double-doubles to 112 consecutive games.

Video Clips from WBCA Ceremony | Video Courtney's Speech | Photos Photo Gallery | OU in St. Louis | NCAA Central

Joining Paris on the team are Stanford's Jayne Appel; Auburn's DeWanna Bonner; Connecticut's Tina Charles,Ohio State's Jantel Lavender, Maya Moore and Renee Montgomery; Maryland's Marissa Coleman and Kristi Toliver; and Louisville's Angel McCoughtry.

Paris also earned All-America honors this season from the Associated Press, U.S. Basketball Writers Associated and the Los Angeles Athletics Club's Wooden Committee.

"These 10 student-athletes have earned the distinction of being members of the 2009 State Farm Coaches' All-America Team," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Each member of this group has had a successful season this year, and we want to recognize them for their accomplishments."

"State Farm is truly honored to recognize these outstanding student-athletes for their wonderful achievements, their dedication to the game of basketball and their commitment to their communities," said Pam El, Marketing Vice President for State Farm. "The State Farm Coaches All-America Team represents true excellence in the sport of women's basketball and we are extremely proud to be associated with these remarkable student-athletes."

The other four-time State Farm Coaches' All-Americans were Anne Meyers, UCLA (1975-78); Lynnette Woodard, Kansas (1978-91); Cheryl Miller, Southern California (1983-86); Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (1996-99); Tamika Catchings, Tennessee (1998-2001); LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (2000-03); and Candice Wiggins, Stanford (2005-08).


OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC