Wrestling Presents Postseason Awards

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 25, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. -- The Oklahoma Wrestling team handed out postseason awards Sunday in the Kerr McGee Courtside Club located at the Lloyd Noble Center.

The Sooners celebrated their third place finish at the 2006 NCAA Championships and their second place finish in the Big 12 conference.  Also honord were All-Americans Sam Hazewinkel, Teyon Ware, Matt Storniolo, Joel Flaggert and Jake Hager.

Also being honored at the event were five graduating seniors: Shane Kidd, Ware, Wes Roberts, Hager and Beau DeArmon.

Oklahoma finished the 2005-06 campaign with an record of 11-6-1 and finished second at the Big 12 championships.  The Sooners qualified eight wrestlers for the NCAA Championships and earned five All-Americans. 

Ware finished as the runner-up at 141-pounds as OU took home the third place trophy for the fourth time in the last five years.

Head coach Jack Spates was honored as the 2005-06 NWCA Coach of the Year and also earned Co-Big 12 Coach of the Year honors.

Outstanding Wrestler of the Year: Teyon Ware and Sam Hazewinkel
Most Falls: Teyon Ware
Outstanding Freshman: Jarrod King
Most Improved: Will Rowe
Jimmy White Award: Joel Flaggert
Outstanding Scholar Athlete: Justin Dyer




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.