Track and Field Heads to Arkansas

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 19, 2012

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma track and field teams return to action this weekend at the John McDonnell Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark. Action begins Friday, April 20 evening and continues through Saturday, April 21. OU’s throwers compete at the 54th annual Mt. SAC Relays in Walnut, Calif. Results from both events are available at

John McDonnell Invitational | Live Results

Action at the John McDonnell Invitational gets underway Friday afternoon with women’s discus throw at 1 p.m. CT followed by the women’s hammer throw at 5 p.m. CT, and the men’s hammer throw following. CT. Lauren Guerrieri and Alex Morgan open the competition in the women’s discus throw, while Holden Mitchell participates in the men’s hammer throw. Rylee Rackley and Angel Togafau are in the women’s hammer throw on the first day of action.

Saturday action begins with Ashley Kowalewski in the women’s javelin throw at noon CT. Claire McConnell competes in the first of three scheduled events for her in the women’s high jump Saturday at 1 p.m. Kristen Rice will also participate in that event, while Landon Sharp takes part in the men’s section at 3 p.m. CT. Jake Huddleston begins field events for the men in the pole vault at 2 p.m. CT. Ti’Anca Mock and Alex Madkins begin the long jump competition at 4 p.m. CT. Mock is ranked sixth in the nation in the event.

The Sooners have a trio of competitors in Alex Acker, Jacy Bennett and Morgan Nichols competing in the women’s pole vault beginning at 5 p.m. CT. Morgan and Rackley return Saturday for the women’s shot put also at 5 p.m. CT. Conrad Aaron competes in the men’s section following the conclusion of the women’s. Wayne Walls competes in the men’s triple jump at approximately 7 p.m. CT.

Track events begin at 4 p.m. CT with the 4x100-meter relays. McConnell follows in the women’s 100-meter hurdles, while Tre Lathan and Nathaniel Winfrey run in the men’s 110-meter hurdles following. Evan Pierson runs the men’s 100-meter dash and the 200-meter dash, while Shawna Anderson and Sherine Wells do the same on the women’s side. McConnell’s final event of the meet is also the 200-meter dash.

Ethan Baker and Jamel Wood run the men’s 400-meter dash as the final sprints events of the day at 6:35 p.m. CT. Hilary Krein runs the first of her two events at 5 p.m. CT in the women’s 5,000-meter run. Krein, Kelsey Brown, Jessica Engel, Molly Ferguson and Kelly Waters run the women’s 1,500-meter run at 7:40 p.m. CT.

Prior to running the 1,5000-meter run, Brown along with Shakeeri Cole and Natalie Crain run the women’s 800-meter run at 6:45 p.m. CT. Daniel Nicolls and Patrick Gomez run the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase at 7:25 p.m. CT. The Sooners close out the meet with the 4x400-meter relays scheduled for 8:15 p.m. CT.

Bailey Wagner opens the Mt. SAC Relays for the Sooners in the women’s open shot put Friday at 12:30 p.m. CT. Wagner and Brittany Borman compete in the women’s discus throw invitational that evening at 7:30 p.m. CT. Luke Bryant also throws in the men’s discus invitational Friday at 5 p.m. CT. Bryant has the best mark in the nation in the discus this year, while Borman is fifth on the women’s side in the discus and has the top mark in the javelin.

Borman closes out the competition Saturday at 3:30 p.m. CT in the women’s javelin elite invitational, while Tia Brooks makes her season debut Saturday at 3 p.m. CT in the women’s shot put elite invitational.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.