Baseball Newcomers Arrive on Campus

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
AUGUST 22, 2005

NORMAN, Okla. -- Fourteen newcomers of the 2006 Oklahoma baseball squad were on campus as the first day of classes began on Monday. After getting oriented and reintroduced back to school, the Sooners will begin several weeks of individual workouts this week before beginning team practices on September 4.

It will be the first season under new head coach Sunny Golloway.

"This coaching staff is excited to get started in our new roles," said Golloway.  "We want to get started as soon as possible and build off the strong finish we put together at the end of last season. 

"We have a lot of talent returning from that team and a solid group of newcomers which should make the 2006 season very competitive."

Included among the class of newcomers was junior infielder Aaron Reza (Modesto Junior College), junior pitcher Matt Lovelady (Modesto Junior College) and freshman catcher Brandon Moss (Norman HS).

Ryan Rohlinger and Daniel McCutchen, two Sooners that were selected in the 2005 MLB Draft, are among some of the key returners in 2006.  Both players turned down professional contracts to return for their senior seasons.

Some of the other returning players to the squad include seniors Russell Raley, Chuckie Caufield, Freddy Rodriguez, Kevin Smith, Scott Rooker and Will Savage; juniors Aaron Ivey and Ryan Mottern; sophomores Kody Kaiser, Jackson Williams and Brad Burns.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.