Robinson Named AFCA All-American

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 29, 2007

Nov. 29, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma offensive guard Duke Robinson has been named a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association. The junior becomes the 143rd All-American in the history of the OU football program, which has been in existence for just 112 seasons.

Robinson, a 6-5, 352-pound left guard, has consistently posted the highest grade among OU's mammoth line. He also tops the team in knockdown blocks.

The Sooner line is among the best at protecting the quarterback. OU has allowed a total of just 11 sacks through its first 12 games and ranks No. 5 nationally in fewest sacks allowed.

That protection has allowed redshirt freshman quarterback Sam Bradford to post some of the best passing numbers in school history. He ranks No. 1 nationally in passing efficiency with a rating of 182.23.

143 First Team All-Americans | OU Football History & Tradition

At the same time, Oklahoma is No. 3 in scoring offense with 43.8 points per game.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected.

In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams -- Division I-A and Division I-AA. In 1996 the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III respectively. The AFCA has selected an NAIA All-America Team since 2006.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997 a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position has been replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

The AFCA's Football Bowl Subdivision All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA's nine I-A districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee.

The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts, that information, along with ballots submitted by FBS head coaches, are used to select the AFCA FBS Coaches' All-America Team.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.