Bradford a Manning Finalist

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 29, 2007

Nov. 29, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford is one of 10 finalists for the 2007 Manning Award, presented annually to the nation's top college quarterback. The announcement was made by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Bradford, a redshirt freshman, leads the nation in passing efficiency with a rating of 182.23. He has completed 198-of-282 passes for 2,670 yards and 32 touchdowns with only seven interceptions.

He established a school record earlier this year when he completed 22 consecutive passes over a two-game span and he has twice tied the school record for touchdown passes in a game with five.

Joining Bradford on the list are: This year's 10 finalists include: Erik Ainge (Tennessee), Colt Brennan (Hawaii), Chase Daniel (Missouri), Dennis Dixon (Oregon), Graham Harrell (Texas Tech), Matt Ryan (Boston College), Tim Tebow (Florida), Patrick White (West Virginia) and Andre' Woodson (Kentucky).

"Each year, the competition for the Manning Award intensifies," said Ray Jeandron, Sugar Bowl President. "This season, there were many outstanding performances as quarterbacks across the country displayed tremendous character and led their teams with great success. Our 10 finalists are all representative of this success and worthy of being honored with this prestigious award."

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. The winner will be announced following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performance.

"We are excited about this year's class of finalists," Archie Manning said. "We had our most impressive preseason list of candidates and the expectations of these young men were very high. These quarterbacks have lived up to and exceed those expectations in what has been an unprecedented college football season."

The finalists were determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

The first three winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Last season, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award, capped by his performance in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. All three players went on to become first round draft picks in the NFL.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.