Alex, Brown Win at Arkansas Twilight

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 04, 2012

May 4, 2012

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. - The University of Oklahoma track and field teams captured two wins and had 10 student-athletes set collegiate bests on Friday evening at the Arkansas Twilight. George Alex ran the sixth-best time in program history, winning the men's 1,500-meter run with a collegiate-best three minutes, 43.32 seconds. Bill Kogel was third in 3:44.13, a collegiate best for the junior and the eighth-best time ever at Oklahoma.

Arkansas Twilight Results

Kelsey Brown won the women's 1,500-meter run title, crossing the line in a collegiate-best 4:27.23. Natalie Crain was just behind Brown also with a collegiate-best time in 4:28.01. Molly Ferguson and Hilary Krein closed out the competitors in the event for OU with fifth and sixth-place finishes respectively.

Alex Acker extended her program record in the women's pole vault to 14 feet, 1.25 inches with a third-place finish Friday. Morgan Nichols matched her collegiate best with a clearance of 11-11.75 to finish 10th. Jacy Bennett was 12th.

Eric Harasyn was OU's top finisher in the men's 800-meter run, taking fourth with a collegiate-best 1:50.00. Patrick Casey was fifth in 1:50.38 and Frezer Legesse was seventh in 1:52.52.

OU had two runners advance to the finals of the men's 110-meter hurdles. Matt Wicks and Tre Lathan each had top nine qualifying wind-aided times to move on to the final. Lathan finished fourth with a time of 13.87 seconds, while Wicks was eighth.

Evan Pierson and Marcus Anderson competed in both the 100- and 200-meter dashes with Pierson recording top-10 finishes in both. He ran a collegiate-best 21.32 to finish ninth in the 200 and took third in the 100 with a wind-aided 10.46. Anderson was sixth in the 100 with a wind-aided 10.62 and 13th in the 200. Shakeeri Cole was ninth in the 400-meter dash with a time of 55.83 seconds.

The Sooners are back in action next weekend, May 11-13 at the 2012 Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Manhattan, Kan.

Arkansas Twilight Results
John McDonnell Field - Fayetteville, Ark. - May 4, 2012        
Men's 100m Dash: 3. Evan Pierson, 10.46w; 6. Marcus Anderson, 10.62w; Men's 200m Dash: 9. Evan Pierson, 21.32; 13. Marcus Anderson, 21.62; Women's 400m Dash: 9. Shakeeri Cole, 55.83; Men's 800m Run: 4. Eric Harasyn, 1:50.00; 5. Patrick Casey, 1:50.38; 7. Frezer Legesse, 1:52.52; 13. Malcolm Wankel, 1:55.37; 14. Taylor Wardall, 1:55.61; Women's 1500m Run: 1. Kelsey Brown, 4:27.23; 2. Natalie Crain, 4:28.01; 5. Molly Ferguson, 4:30.59; 6. Hilary Krein, 4:32.01; Men's 1500m Run: 1. George Alex, 3:43.32; 3. Bill Kogel, 3:44.13; 18. Danny Nicolls, 3:55.98; Men's 110m Hurdles (prelims): 8. Matt Wicks, 14.20w (q); 9. Tre Lathan, 14.22w (q); 12. Nathaniel Winfrey, 14.29w; Men's 110m Hurdles (final): 4. Tre Lathan, 13.87; 8. Matt Wicks, 15.01; Women's Pole Vault: 3. Alex Acker, 14-1.75 (program record, previous record 13-10.50); 10. Morgan Nichols, 11-11.75; 12. Jacy Bennett; 11-11.75; Men's Pole Vault: 13. Seth Lewandowski, 14-5.25



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.