Gymnasts to be Honored at Halftime
October 09, 2009

Oct. 9, 2009

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma women's gymnastics squad will be honored at Saturday's football game against Baylor for bringing home its second straight Big 12 title last season. 

The squad will receive their 2009 championship rings on the field in a halftime ceremony with OU President David Boren and VP/ Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione.

Last year's Big 12 crown marked the first time Oklahoma has won back-to-back conference titles since reeling off three-straight Big Eight crowns from 1984-1986. 

All-American Megan Ferguson, the Big 12 co-champion on bars and beam, headlines the Oklahoma returners for the 2010 season.   Seven different gymnasts on the 2010 roster have won an event title during their OU career, including nine by Hollie Vise a year ago, the most of any returner. 

Other returners include Candace Cindell, Jackie Flanery, Natasha Kelley, Julie Kramer, Mary Mantle, Natalie Ratcliff, Melanie Root, Kristin Smith and Sara Stone. 

The freshmen class of Bethany Neubauer, Kayla Nowak, Brie Olson and Nitya Ramaswami will also be on hand at Saturday's festivities.

No. 17 Oklahoma and Baylor face off at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on Owen Field. The matchup will be televised regionally by ABC.

Oklahoma opens the season Jan. 8 at home against Florida, a Super Six qualifier at last year's NCAA Championships.

OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC