Oklahoma Earns Fifth at 2010 NCAAs
March 20, 2010

March 20, 2010

OMAHA, Neb. - The University of Oklahoma wrestling team is once again among the nation's elite to end the season, as the Sooners earned fifth place at the 2010 NCAA Championships in Omaha, Neb.

It marks the sixth time OU has earned fifth place or better at the NCAAs since 2001 and the seventh time in the past decade the Sooners have finished inside the top 10.

Oklahoma, which picked up its first top-five finish since 2006, was one of just four teams in this year's field to qualify all 10 starters.

Iowa took home the team title for the third straight year, gathering 134.5 points.  Cornell was second with 90 points, followed by Iowa State (75) and Wisconsin (70.5) in third and fourth, respectively.   

Individually, Oklahoma crowned four All-Americans - Zack Bailey (141), Kyle Terry (149), Tyler Caldwell (165) and Eric Lapotsky (197) - at the Championships, its most since earning five in 2006. 

  Final Brackets |  Final Team Standings | Final Results

The four All-Americans finished in the top five in their respective weight classes, led by third-place winner Terry.  Bailey was fourth at 141 pounds and earning fifth was Caldwell and Lapotsky.

Seven of the 10 qualifiers for Oklahoma will return to the squad next season.  Wrestling in Sooner singlets for the last time were seniors Terry, Shane Vernon (157 pounds), and Lapotsky.  



141:  Zack Bailey (Jr.)
149:  Kyle Terry (Sr.)
165:  Tyler Caldwell (Fr.)
197:  Eric Lapotsky (Sr.)


1.  Iowa (134.5)
2.  Cornell (90)
3.  Iowa State (75)
4.  Wisconsin (70.5)
5.  Oklahoma (69)
6.  Oklahoma State (65)
7.  Minnesota (63)
8.  Ohio State (62)
9.  Penn State (49)
10. Missouri (48)


125:  Matt McDonough (Iowa)
133:  Jayson Ness (Minnesota)
141:  Kyle Dake (Cornell)
149:  Brent Metcalf (Iowa)
157:  J.P. O'Connor (Harvard)
165:  Andrew Howe (Wisconsin)
174:  Jay Borschel (Iowa)
184:  Max Askren (Missouri)
197:  Jake Varner (Iowa State)
285:  David Zabriskie (Iowa State)

OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC